Saturday, March 31, 2012

Young Justice 1.23 - Insecurity



Young Justice 1.23 - Insecurity

Brief Summary

Green Arrow persuades Roy to join up to the Young Justice team, thinking it would be a good example, and make him look better for joining up to the Justice League. However, Artemis is upset that now there are two archers on the team, and because her mother reveals that she was initially added to the team partially to keep her out of trouble. When the team heads off on a mission to track down Sportsmaster, Artemis goes off-book trying to prove her worth.

What I Liked

Well for starters, Red Arrow finally joined the team! He's definitely my favorite second to Robin, so this makes me happy, for sure. And while he's still not the most chipper member, he's a team player and the others respect him. Interestingly, it almost seemed like he was playing the leader on the mission, even though technically that's Aqualad's role.

I also liked that Green Arrow is still looking out for him, and that the two seem on good terms.

Wally trying to cheer Artemis up. He did a good job, too. It's nice to see Wally's softer side, when he's not just tossing one-liners and being the comic relief.

Cheshire's interactions with Red Arrow amuse me. I know in the comics the two had a thing, so I get that it's probably in reference to that, but her advances on him (purely theatrical or otherwise) have him so bewildered, it's fun to watch, especially when Artemis actually questions whether or not they're dating, and he quickly denies.

What I Didn't Like

Artemis is definitely not a favorite character of mine, but she's just so stupid sometimes! Why was she trying to complete the mission on her own? Following the rest of the team seemed like a much better idea. And that said, why didn't she just reveal to the team about her family ties in the beginning? Or before this mission? It's not like she's the only one who has "family" baggage. (Superboy is a half-Lex Luthor clone! Not that he's telling anyone, of course...) Yes, it might put her at risk of being distrusted for a little while, but when this news comes out now, after she's mislead the team so she could try to bag the bad guys on her own, she's going to look even worse. It's hard to feel sorry for her, because it's really all her fault. Why she doesn't actually lean on the team a bit is beyond me. There's nothing wrong with being the newbie and getting some help.

Twists and Turns

I feel like we already essentially knew this, but Cheshire is Artemis' sister, and Sportsmaster is Artemis' father.

Artemis misled the team so she could take on Cheshire and Sportsmaster herself. The plan failed anyway, since Red Arrow was trailing her.

Observations

Red Arrow doesn't trust Artemis, and with good reason. However, I doubt she's the mole. She's being confronted by her villainous family, but not giving them info. Frankly, I think Superboy is the mole without evening knowing it. (He has a psychic link with Lex, who can shut him down with just two words, after all.)

Zatanna, Megan, and Conner are becoming a bit of a trio, since all three live at the headquarters. Their side story about finding out what Red Tornado's apartment was like was a little silly, but it's nice that they're kind of bonding. You'd think Zatanna might feel like a third wheel sometimes, though, since Megan and Conner are dating. (Come to think of it, creatively that might be why they got another team member to live there, so it wasn't just the two of them living in the same place with only Red Tornado around.)

Robin was MIA, working on a case with Batman. I think he's missed the most episodes out of any of the team members, excluding ones who weren't there from the start.

It was kind of sad that Wally had started really bonding with Artemis, and then totally shut her down after learning that she misled them all. Also, I didn't even recognize him at first in that new costume! It wasn't until the next scene that I realized it was just him, and not some random other hero who had stepped in.

Artemis looked over as Cheshire was (forcibly) kissing Red Arrow. Does she actually think something is going on between the two, or was that cleared up? Might have to re-watch to see if it's clarified. If she does think there's something going on, I could see her being quick to point the finger at him for being the mole. I think we can pretty much rule out Arrow, Robin, Kid Flash, and Aqualad, though. (I don't think they can twist it any way to have Roy have been the mole and have it make sense, but if they do somehow go that route, I'm going to be pissed.)

Overall

A really good episode! Artemis continues to annoy me with her stupid decisions, but I'm definitely thrilled to have Red Arrow on the team.

Monday, March 26, 2012

Community 3.12 - Contemporary Impressionists



Community 3.12 - Contemporary Impressionists


Brief Summary

Abed has amassed a huge debt from a celebrity impersonation company, and the study group agree to work for the company as impersonators at a Bar Mitzvah in order to pay it off. Meanwhile, Jeff is taking anti-anxiety medication, but it's causing his narcissism to blow through the roof.

What I Liked

Everyone dressed up as the impersonators. I loved the comment about Britta and Troy being able to both play Michael Jackson.

The dean falling over and spazzing at Jeff's sunglasses look.

Britta as Michael Jackson.

And again, the difference between "not liking a plot" vs. "not liking how it was executed, Troy and Abed's scene at the end was very sad, especially because it's not clear that everything is okay between them. Abed wanted to go play in the Dreamatorium alone, and didn't do their special handshake. Troy seemed frustrated trying to talk sense into him.

Evil!Abed showing up in the imaginary plane.

Pierce getting excited over being recognized as "fat" Burt Reynolds.

What I Didn't Liked

Chang's storyline with his army wasn't great, and I don't really care for some of the cartoony add-ins, such as the thought bubbles. I didn't mind the Ego apple as much, but it still was a little jarring.

Twists and Turns

Evil!Abed can't be anything but trouble.

Jeff kissed Shirley when he was up on the stage and flipping out!

Chang seems to be enlisting kids to his "army" to overthrow the dean.

Observations

I saw some people complaining about Britta's advice to Jeff about not taking the pills anymore, saying that she shouldn't be more qualified to make decisions than Jeff's therapist. While I'm not sure the show was really even thinking that deeply, what I got from it was that they were trying to say that there is no magic pill that will cure all your problems when you take it. They took it to a comical extreme by having the pill work too well, but the same principle applies, I think. There is no "quick fix" for problems, and Jeff's willingness to just keep popping pills wasn't good.

I'm hoping the tension between Troy and Abed will resolve itself shortly. I like those two too much as friends, and it was heartbreaking seeing them in a bit of a tiff.

Overall

A solid episode. Not my favorite, again, but still pretty fun.

The Vampire Diaries 3.17 - Break on Through



The Vampire Diaries 3.17 - Break on Through


The Vampire Diaries 3.17 - Break on Through

Brief Summary

Damon and Sage work together to try to determine what it is Rebekah is after. Caroline tries to help Bonnie's mother as she adjusts to becoming a vampire. Meredith tries to determine what is causing Alaric to attack and kill people.

What I Liked

The revelation that the white oak tree Rebekah is looking for was used in the building of the Wickery Bridge is fun, because it connects everything so much. I also love the reveal at the end with Damon and the sign.

What I Didn't Like

Bonnie's storyline was so dull I just about tuned out. I don't care about her mom that much, and while I love Caroline, the whole storyline about trying to get her to adjust to becoming a vampire was just so boring and predictable: Abbey leaves at the end of the episode, despite Caroline's plees for her to stay.

It's nice Alaric has a storyline, but I'm still iffy on his being a murderer thing. It's infinitely more interesting than another Klaus story, though.

Twists and Turns

The Wickery Bridge is made of the white oak tree.

Rebekah burns down the bridge.

Sage double-crosses Damon, since he neglected to mention that killing Rebekah would also kill Finn, who Sage is in love with.

Damon retrieves the sign for the bridge, which is made of the same material as the bridge itself.

Alaric attacks Meredith.

Bonnie uses her powers to try to reverse the damage from the ring.

Observations

Why didn't Elena come up with some excuse for why Jeremy should not wear the ring anymore? He's clearly wearing it while he's on the phone with her.

Has Bonnie actually succeeded in helping cure Alaric? Or is the damage irreversible?

Alaric explains the fights he was in, but there's no mention of the restraining order that Isabelle supposedly filed against him in college (twice). That bit didn't even make sense to me, though, I don't know why Meredith would make it up.

Overall

A solid episode, though Bonnie's story dragged.

Sunday, March 25, 2012

Young Justice 1.22 - Agendas



Young Justice 1.22 - Agendas

Brief Summary

Superboy gets a mental message to go back to Cadmus, where he discovers they've created another Superboy clone. He learns some disturbing information about both the new clone, and his own creation. Meanwhile, the Justice League debate on who to add to the Justice League team, and whether Captain Marvel should be allowed to stay now that they know he's a 10-year old kid. Megan and Zatanna make Thanksgiving dinner.

What I Liked

Batman knows everything - he already knew that Captain Marvel was only 10.

Green Arrow rallying to get Red Arrow added to the Justice League.

Both Green Lanterns adamantly objecting to adding another Green Lantern to the league!

Wonder Woman insisting that they need more women, and Black Canary and Hawkgirl agreeing.

Getting to know some more about Superboy's origins.

What I Didn't Like

Nothing! Except that who actually got voted into the league was left as a cliffhanger.

Twists and Turns

There is a second Superboy clone, Project Match, which is pure Kryptonion, whereas Superboy himself is part human.

The human DNA in Superboy comes from Lex Luthor.

Guardian is Roy/Red Arrow's uncle.

Batman already knew Captain Marvel was only 10, but didn't bother telling the rest of the league.

A new member is voted to join the Justice League.

Observations

I wonder if the fact that Guardian is Roy's uncle is supposed to cast suspicion on Red Arrow now. Guardian himself doesn't seem like a bad guy, though. (Fun fact: the two have the same voice actor. Same with Superman and Superboy!)

I remembered that in the comics, Superboy was created from DNA from both Superman and Lex Luthor. I'm glad they brought that in! That's an interesting little fact. Somehow I feel like that little tidbit could possibly put an even bigger wedge between Superman and Superboy, though.

Who was added to the league? The person most-discussed was Red Arrow, and it does make sense. I'd be happy to see him around more often, that's for sure! I'm not sure Roy really wants to join the Justice League, though.

I'm glad Batman stuck up for Captain Marvel. Black Canary was a bit condescending when she was asking him to leave.

Overall

Another good episode! I'm really curious to see who got added to the League.

Monday, March 19, 2012

How I Met Your Mother 7.19 - The Broath



How I Met Your Mother 7.19 - The Broath

Brief Summary

Barney makes Ted promise not to tell the others that Quinn is a stripper, which Ted promptly turns around and does. The gang then get to meet Quinn, and are not happy to see she is bossing Barney around and generally being a controlling jerk. When they plot an intervention, however, Quinn walks in on it and breaks up with Barney for feeling the need to hide her profession.

What I Liked

Ted living in the dorms should have been explored more, but I think the concept is funny.

Ted running into the bar right after promising Barney he wouldn't tell and blurting it out to everyone else.

The term "Quinntervention," and Marshall's continued use of wanting to put "Quinn" in front of words like "interest."

Robin and Ted's chat about wanting to go back to normal.

Lily getting a little too into her kiss with Robin.

What I Didn't Like

That the episode was essentially a long joke at everyone's expense, played by Barney and Quinn. 90% of what we saw was them acting.

The fight with Quinn, fake or not, was super awkward and weird.

That Quinn is very eager is to use Barney's friends for her own amusement. Making them kiss each other, and having Ted and Robin fight over her apartment were her ideas.

That just because Barney and Quinn knew how they'd react and played it against them suddenly made all of the gang's concerns invalid.

That we still aren't seeing any emotions on Robin's end regarding Barney, not even friendship. She's concerned over her loss of Ted as a friend, but doesn't bat an eye about Barney, who she was supposedly in love with.

Marshall's sex stories. Not cool, especially because what can Lily do about it? Once it's out there, it's out there...

Barney referring to himself as the devil. That's just odd.

Twists and Turns

It looks like Quinn is a total bitch, but it's actually just that she and Barney pull a long play on the rest of the gang.

Quinn and Barney decide to move in together.

Robin gets a promotion and a new apartment.

Ted is moving into Quinn's apartment.

Observations

I feel like the only reason we're not seeing Robin's reactions to all this is that we're going to get an "Of Course"-style flashback toward the end of the season. We'll suddenly see, "Oh, Robin really was in love with him the whole time!" and it'll be a big shock to everyone. At this point, they're so far downplaying the history between Barney and Robin it's nonexistent.

I don't feel like Barney's very sincere when he's around Quinn, especially in the fake scenes. I know they were meant to be fake, but still. Also, why the big play on the gang anyway? Just to mess with them? Seems like Quinn is all sorts of a bad influence on Barney.

I also still think Quinn is pulling one over on Barney. Moving in anyway, and subtly hinting that she'd quit her stripping job if she got married? Something's going on here.

Overall

Not that funny, and since most of what we saw between Quinn and Barney was an act, we still don't know much about her other than that she likes creating chaos. Objectively, she's sassy and clever, and she and Barney definitely have some common ground. But it's pushed way too fast. Also, why are we only told about Robin's achievements and not shown? That would have made a better subplot than Marshall and Lily's sex stories.

Saturday, March 17, 2012

Young Justice 1.21 - Image



Young Justice 1.21 - Image

Brief Summary

Robin is appointed leader for a mission that takes the group to Qurac, trying to determine why Queen Bee has the president of a neighboring nation agreeing to combine into one country. While en route, the group meets up with an 8-year old Garfield Logan and his mother, who used to star in a TV show "Hello Megan!"

What I Liked

The opening with Black Canary and Green Arrow was amusing. He was outraged when he thought she'd been kissing Superboy, but then found the whole thing funny when it turned out to just be Miss Martian shape-shifting. Canary was less-than-pleased.

Learning more about Miss Martian. She has a very interesting backstory, and it's nice to finally understand where her sometimes annoying catch-phrase comes from.

Robin acting as leader. It's nice to get a glimpse of what he's like when he's in leader-mode, and interestingly, he's a little less chipper about it than you would have thought.

I had a heads-up from a friend that Gar, better known as Beast Boy, was going to be making an appearance in the episode, and it was fun. I hope he'll return in future episodes, especially considering this one ended on a bit of a cliffhanger.

What I Disliked

Nothing! It was another really good episode.

Twists and Turns

Miss Martian isn't a green martian as she has led everyone to believe, but a white martian.

Queen Bee knows her secret and is presumably going to blackmail her.

Gar's eye colored had changed to green by the end of the episode. Shades of things to come?

Observations

As noted above, I wonder if Miss Martian giving Gar her blood will trigger his change into the shape-shifting Beast Boy? I'm not sure where the green in his eyes is coming from, though, since Miss Martian isn't really a green martian. It could be because she was shifting herself to appear as one, though. At any rate, that's an interesting (presumably new) back-story for the character.

This was a really interesting episode. I liked learning more about Miss Martian, and you really got a sense of the loneliness she felt and how she clung to the "Hello Megan!" show as she was growing up. You can also see why she's so thrilled with such mundane things as going to school, baking, and being on the cheerleading squad. Interesting in that she was actually the one who suggested "Conner" for a name when Superboy was thinking of one, saying how she'd always liked it, when it turns out Conner was the name of Megan's boyfriend in the show. She's living out her fantasy dream of being her favorite TV character, and I can understand why she continues to lie out of fear that she'll lose everyone close to her if she reveals her true identity. Unfortunately, the truth is probably going to come out sooner or later, and it would be much better coming from her than from someone else.

Kid Flash was dropping some major hints that he knows Bruce Wayne and Batman are the same person, and you can see Robin trying to shut him up. Looks like Robin has spilled the beans on his secret identity to his buddy.

Robin is a very serious leader. No word plays or jokes from him on this mission. I wonder if it's because he's trying his best not to screw up, or if he really isn't happy playing that part anymore. He wanted to be the leader early in the season, but after the whole Failsafe scenario, he realized that he didn't want to become a Batman-like person who had to send friends to their doom in order to accomplish a mission.

The ending was a bit of a cliffhanger, which was unusual. What has Queen Bee done to Gar? What does she want Megan to do for her in order to keep the secret that she is a white martian?

Artemis, Aqualad, and Zatanna were all MIA for this mission. Aqualad was working with Aquaman, but no reason was given for why the two girls weren't joining.

Overall

Another really solid episode! I'm enjoying learning more about the characters so much. I liked Kid Flash more after last week's episode, and Miss Martian has grown on me a bit more after this week's.

Friday, March 16, 2012

Community 3.11 - Urban Matrimony and the Sandwich Arts



Community 3.11 - Urban Matrimony and the Sandwich Arts


Brief Summary

Shirley and Andre are planning to get remarried, and in the study room, no less! Britta takes on the role of planning the wedding so Shirley can focus on her sandwich shop venture with Pierce, but she becomes depressed at how good she is at traditional female roles. Jeff is also frustrated trying to come up with a good wedding toast when he himself does not believe in marriage. Meanwhile, Troy and Abed try to make themselves "normal" for the wedding.

What I Liked

First off, that Community is back!

I liked all the character interactions. "Normal" Troy and Abed were hilarious. And the fact that Andre thought they were being sarcastic.

Jeff's heart was full of a lot of things, including a lot of pictures of Annie. Hm...

Britta moping about being good at womanly things, especially her line about coming from a "long line of mothers and wives!" was amusing.

Annie's giant wedding book.

Britta and Jeff going at it while "almost" getting married.

I kind of liked Pierce's poster design for Shirley's Sandwiches, even though she woman looked nothing like her, haha.

What I Didn't Like

It's hard to say what I didn't like. It was all very good. It wasn't the funniest or even most fun episode by a longshot, but it's great that the show is back!

Twists and Turns

Andre and Shirley get married again.

We see Annie's Boobs (the monkey!) is still alive.

Dean Pelton sold the space to a Subway shop instead of Shirley's sandwich shop.

Observations

I am curious about the prominence of Annie in Jeff's heart. I really like the idea of something forming between the two of them, but the episode also had the Britta and Jeff bonding over their mutual dislike of marriage, so who knows!

Overall

Glad to have the show back! I'm looking forward to some great episodes ahead, and this was a pretty solid start.

The Vampire Diaries 3.16 - 1912



The Vampire Diaries 3.16 - 1912


Brief Summary

Rebekah is trying to find the location of the white oak tree, without much luck. She hangs around Stefan and Damon trying to get answers, but the brothers are talking about the murders and how they could be connected to a vampire they knew back in the day, Sage. Meanwhile, Alaric has been arrested on suspicion of being the murderer after Meredith shoots him, and Elena and Matt try to find information that will prove his innocence.

What I Liked

First off, I know I have about 4 episodes worth of back-entries to write. I'll try to get them up! I did love Elijah showing back up again, and I was a little sad he's already left town again.

Elena and Matt. They're cute together, and I like thinking of the two of them as ending up together in the future.

Damon. Even when he's back to being the "badder" brother, he's really not that bad. Damon wasn't trying to kill people in the past sequences we saw, and he wasn't trying to kill anyone that night, either. He's trying to help Stefan learn to drink in moderation.

What I Didn't Like

I don't mind them bringing Alaric into the fold more, but I don't like the realization that he could sudddenly be the murderer because the ring is making him crazy. Ring making him crazy could be a good plot, and tie in well with what we know of Jonathon Gilbert. But murderer?

Twists and Turns

Obviously the big one that Alaric might be committing the murders.

Samantha Gilbert was the murderer in the past, not Sage.

Observations

Meredith asked to be let in, and she always seems to have vampire blood around to heal people. I'm thinking she might be a vampire herself. I'll go one step further and guess that she might actually be Samantha Gilbert, the vampire from the past. Damon thought she was dead, but clearly she wasn't if she was the murderer. So she must have become a vampire. And that would explain why Meredith had the Samantha Gilbert journal. Even if she turns out not to be Samantha Gilbert herself, I'm thinking odds are Meredith knew her in the past and is indeed a vampire.

Overall

A good episode, but I'm not sure I like the Alaric plotline.

Sunday, March 11, 2012

Young Justice 1.20 - Coldhearted



Young Justice 1.20 - Coldhearted

Brief Summary

It's Wally's 16th birthday, and he's thrilled when it seems he's finally going to get to join in on a Justice League mission. He's less-than-thrilled when it turns out he's the only one on the team who has been assigned a separate mission: delivering a heart across the country in 4 hours for a young girl who needs a transplant. Along the way, he runs into some trouble from people who want to stop him from reaching his destination on-time.

What I Liked

First off, remember how last entry I was talking about how I wanted to see more of the character's lives? Well, I think this episode definitely did that! I liked seeing some of Wally's non-Kid Flash life, and even though most of the other characters didn't feature prominently, it was a great episode for getting to know him a little better. He was frustrating me to death when he stopped to fight Vandal Savage, and I was relieved when it turned out the young girl hadn't actually died. (I thought that was kind of sad and strange.)

I also liked everyone's "snow" versions of their costumes.

What I Didn't Like

I really liked this episode! So no complaints, even though it was mostly just about Wally.

Twists and Turns

Wally had the news falsely report that the queen had died in order to get Count Vertigo to confess to his plan.

Observations

I'm glad someone finally told Wally that Megan was dating Conner. It was so painfully obvious. Artemis seemed to relish getting to tell him, and her annoyed look in the beginning when he's flirting with Megan seems to indicate to me she might like him a bit.

Overall

A really good episode. My sister, who has missed quite a few of the recent episodes, was also watching with me, and she seemed to equally enjoy it as well. A really solid story, and I liked getting to focus a bit more on Wally as a character. Hopefully we'll have similar episodes for the other characters coming up.

Thursday, March 8, 2012

Little Scarf Reviews Community!



That's right! Little Scarf Girl will now be reviewing Community starting when it returns next week, March 15th, at 8PM on NBC. Again, for the others, I won't be doing any "back-reviewing" of former episodes aired, but I will tell a bit about my stance for the show.

I only recently caught up on the show back in October, but its quirky humor and fun characters quickly grew on me. The first episode I watched was Remedial Chaos Theory, which is actually somewhat confusing, but it definitely got me hooked on the show's zany humor. It's a show that never takes itself too seriously, but yet still manages to be heartfelt at times. While there is romance, it never takes over, instead playing under the surface or in the background. While I like interactions between Jeff and Annie, Community itself isn't a show that really is made to explore relationships, so I'm happy to just watch for the little moments. Troy and Abed's friendship is another huge fun part of the show, and I'm excited to see what antics they continue to get up to when the show comes back. My favorite characters are Jeff, Annie, and Abed, though the only characters I really don't care for are Britta, Pierce, and Chang. (And even they're not so bad.)

The Big Bang Theory - Episdoes 7.11 - 7.18



The Big Bang Theory - Episdoes 7.11 - 7.18


Brief Summary

It's difficult to feel motivated to review this show since I feel like nothing really ever happens. The only real plotline we have right now is Bernadette and Howard's wedding, and the big question surrounding it - where will they live after getting married - hasn't been answered, even though it's been a plotpoint in I think two different episodes already. There's no denying funny things happen, but it's not the same as HIMYM or even Community, where things actually happen. So in short, I'm going to do a mass review of the past 8 episodes!

What I Liked

Amy's reaction to Sheldon buying her a tiara in The Shiny Trinket Manuever was cute. I also liked Bernadette and Howard's magic show.

The Recombination Hypothesis is the closest to moving the plot forward this show really gets, and while it was interesting, essentially that whole scenario that played out over the episode never really happened. Penny and Leonard sort-of dating again is good, though. I feel like they're "sort-of dating" all the time, anyway.

The best part of The Beta Test Initiation was Sheldon and Amy doing the podcast about Fun With Flags.

Leonard trying to avoid saying that Penny beat him in chess was great in The Werewolf Transformation.

What I Didn't Like

The aforementioned "nothing ever happens on this show" is my big stickler. But there's also just a lot of not-funny stuff going on.

Amy's kookiness is endearing up to a point, but the whole thing about her giving Penny a giant painting of the two of them in The Rothman Disintegration was a little ridiculous. The other plot from that episode, Sheldon wanting the office of the retiring professor, felt stale.

The Vacation Solution could have been really funny, with Sheldon being a general pain while trying to work with Amy in her lab, but nothing really stood out for me. Also, the subplot of Howard not wanting to sign a prenup was kind of dumb. Similarly, The Friendship Contraction just sort of fell flat overall, with Sheldon being a pain to Leonard, again, and Howard wanting a cool nickname from his fellow astronauts.

Twists and Turns

The only twists in the last 8 episodes have been that Penny and Leonard start dating again, and Howard finds out Bernadette doesn't really like kids.

Observations

I know a lot of shows (especially sitcoms) don't really have a set "goal" of where they're going. But I feel like the best shows usually have enough plotlines or character development or hanging threads to keep you engaged anyway. If nothing really happens, why should you care about the characters? You want to see them grow and change and adapt to the various things that life throws at them. HIMYM is an easy one to point out the plots and threads, since there actually is a goal in mind for the show. Community also has the goal of seeing its characters through their four years of college. But even shows like Parks and Rec, which really doesn't have a "goal," has plotlines such as Leslie's campaign, the funding being cut to the department, and subplots such as Tom's attempts to start a business, to keep you invested in what's going on. Similarly Frasier had slight changes to the lives of its characters over the years, and ongoing subplots throughout the episodes and seasons that kept things interesting. Not all shows have to have tight continuity and reoccuring themes, of course, but I feel like those things make them better and more relatable.

Overall

As I said, The Big Bang Theory is a fun laugh for a minute at times. But somwhen it's not funny, you're left watching a show with characters that never progress or change, and will probably be doing the same things 2 or 3 seasons from now. Granted that might be part of its draw, so in that regard, it might be succeeding. It's certainly is a big ratings hit.

Young Justice 1.19 - Misplaced



Young Justice 1.19 - Misplaced


Brief Summary

Klarion the witch boy is back, and he's casting a spell with some other sorcerers that make all the adults in the world suddenly vanish. At the same time in another realtiy, however, all the children have vanished, leaving the Justice League stumped. The Young Justice team must coordinate with Billy Batson/Captain Marvel, who is able to transfer between the two worlds due to his unique abilities, and the Justice League, to figure out how to bring down the sorcerers.

What I Liked

And the show is finally back! I feel like we haven't had new episodes in ages. I enjoyed the story, and I really liked getting a know a little bit more about Billy/Captain Marvel. He's just sort of the comic relief sometimes, it was nice to see him be helpful.

I'm a little indifferent to Zatanna officially joining the team, but it was heading in that direction, and it's nice to have another girl on the team. I would have honestly prefered they introduce Wonder Girl instead, though.

What I Didn't Like

Even though this is only the second time they've resorted to using the Dr. Fate helmet, I feel like we've seen it too much. (It was what won them the battle in Revalation, too.) The effects were permanent this time, though. I thought Zatara was interesting, so it's a little sad to see him taken over. I hope they can rescue him at some point, although Dr. Fate seemed pretty intent on staying.

Maybe I missed something, but what were the witches/sorcerers trying to accomplish by splitting the worlds?

Twists and Turns

Zatanna uses the Dr. Fate helmet to win the battle, and Zatara makes a deal with Dr. Fate so he will be the host instead of his daughter.

Zatana joins the team and moves into the tower.

Observations

I think Robin has a soft spot for Zatanna. He was sort of flirting with her back in Humanity, and he tosses a look back at her at the end of this episode when she asks to be alone. I could see the two of them bonding a bit, especially considering Robin's parents are dead. (Even though Zatara is not dead, he's pretty much unaccessible right now.)

Nice continuity in that I believe Wally's still got his arm in a cast from Revalation. The timestamps on the episodes indicate only one month has passed between the episodes, so it's cool that they're paying attention to things like that. I also like that they mentioned Red Arrow when they were trying to find people to help. It's nice that the show doesn't just forget that people exist, even when they don't show up in every episode. Also, we saw another glimpse of Barbara Gordon in Gotham City. As a fan of Batgirl, I'd love to see more of her.

Personally, I'd like to see less entire-world disaster scenarios on the show (the team is supposed to be covert-ops missions!) and focus a little more on the lives of our heroes. I can't help but compare the show to X-men: Evolution a little bit, since they both focused on groups of younger super heroes. (Although admittedly the X-men team comprised of slightly older teens and were treated more like adults to begin with.) X-men also showed a lot of the character's personal lives, which I enjoyed. More little glimpses like we saw in Downtime and Homefront would be fun, especially regarding Red Arrow. Where is he even living these days?

Overall

A good episode. It's nice to bolster the female ranks of the team, and while I'm sad to see Zatara go, I'm glad the Dr. Fate helmet is no longer an option. (Of course, now they can just call on Fate himself, but still.)