Monday, November 28, 2011

Round Up: Fall 2011

Hello everybody! Looks like I've attracted a few readers during my Fall 2011 run at reviewing. Nice to have you! If anyone else is just browsing, leave a comment and let me know your thoughts! I love discussing and speculating plot twists.

For the Winter/Spring 2012 TV season, I think I might consider dropping Castle from my lineup of coverage. I'm just not as into the show as I feel like I should be to review it. I ended up fast-forwarding through a lot of the episode from two weeks ago, and although last week's was pretty intense, I don't always find the show that interesting. (And thus my reviews are not really that interesting.)

I'd also consider adding Community as a new feature, however, the show is going to be on a winter hiatus for an indeterminate amount of time. When it returns, however, I will definitely add it to my list of shows to review. I discovered it a few weeks ago, and have quickly caught up on all 2 and a half seasons so far. There are two more new episodes until the break, but I haven't decided whether or not if I'll review those two.

The Vampire Diaries is already on hiatus until January 5. I put up the review for 3.09 today.

How I Met Your Mother looks to have one more episode before the winter break, 7.12, which will air on December 5. I have to take back some of my previous speculation, since it looks like Robin's pregnancy is for real. The next episode, called Symphony of Illumination looks to be heading into some depressing territory, though, much like last season's Last Words did. This whole season has been pretty up-and-down for me, so I'm a little apprehensive about how this next episode is going to play out. Also a little concerned since reports are already out about Barney's next potential love interest. How are we even supposed to care about a new love interest when we had that soulmate montage involving Robin two weeks ago? We'll see where the show goes, but right now, they're on thin ice in my book.

I assume The Big Bang Theory will also show up until 5.12, meaning they have 2 episodes left. Nothing really exciting or speculation-worthy seems to happen on that show, however, I assume at least one of those episodes will be Christmas-themed.

Also assuming that Young Justice will continue to play episodes as scheduled until the end of the season. 1.19, titled Misplaced, is scheduled to air December 9. The series was already renewed for a second season, which is supposedly about an alien invasion. We've certainly seen that theme forshadowed quite a bit this season, with the whole plot of Failsafe revolving around alien intruders, and the subplot of last week's Secrets having to do with a fake alien rumor. I'm personally not a huge fan of the outerspace/alien plotlines, but I'll wait to pass judgement until we see how it plays out.

If anyone has any comments or suggestions for the blog, please let me know!

Thanks for reading.

The Big Bang Theory 5.10 - The Flaming Spittoon Acquisition



The Big Bang Theory 5.10 - The Flaming Spittoon Acquisition



Brief Summary

Stewart from the comic book store asks Amy out on a date. Sheldon gets jealous, and is forced to solidify his relationship with her in order to prevent her from seeing other guys. Meanwhile, Raj buys a new World of Warcraft card came, forcing Howard and Leonard to buy it too.

What I Liked

Sheldon's reluctance at asking Amy to be his girlfriend was cute. I also liked that he did up a "Girlfriend Agreement," with such terms as limiting hand-holding to only certain occasions, and making Amy responsible for taking care of him when he gets a splinter.

I also enjoyed seeing Sheldon try to ask Penny out on a date to get back at Amy for going out with Stewart.

The guys buying the cards wasn't really that funny, but I like that they all reluctantly buy it and play it even after making fun of it.

What I Didn't Like

Not much to dislike in this one.

Twists and Turns

Amy and Sheldon are actually girlfriend/boyfriend now! Of course, nothing really changed.

Observations

It's nice that Amy and Sheldon are a little more "official," even though not much is going to be different. (Except Amy's bound by whatever the heck Sheldon put in that agreement.)

Overall

A pretty good episode.

The Big Bang Theory 5.09 - The Onithophobia Diffusion



The Big Bang Theory 5.09 - The Ornithophobia Diffusion


Brief Summary

Sheldon tries desperately to get rid of a bird that's seated outside his window. Penny and Leonard try to go to the movies strictly as friends, but it doesn't go that well.

What I Liked

Sheldon and the bird was amusing. I liked when he was posing for photos with it. I also liked Amy's grumble about needing hollow bones in order to get any love from Sheldon.

Leonard and Penny's story had a few fair laughs.

What I Disliked

I don't like the Leonard seems to catagorize all aspects of his relationship with Penny in terms of sex. Although he may just be using that as a defense mechanism, he comes off as a jerk who never really cared about anything they did together.

Twists and Turns

The bird flies away just after Sheldon starts to like it.

Observations

Penny and Leonard don't have a very good night out as "just friends," and it's no wonder why. Amy and Bernadette have only a small part in Sheldon's story, and I don't recall Howard and Raj doing anything of note this week.

Overall

Not the funniest episode, but not too bad, either.

The Vampire Diaries 3.09 - Homecoming


The Vampire Diaries 3.09 - Homecoming


Brief Summary

The big homecoming dance has been moved from the school to Tyler's place due to a flood, but as it turns out, Tyler's not actually the one running the show. Meanwhile, Stefan, Elena, and Damon try to forge a plan with Mikael to get rid of Klaus once and for all. But as usual, not everything goes off without a hitch.

What I Liked

Matt. He didn't really do much except take Caroline home, but his comments and presence are grounding. Everyone else is a vampire or a hybrid or a witch or a doppleganger, and here he is just this average Joe.

Katherine. I always enjoy Katherine's quips and schemes, and here she was actually being helpful. Although she ended up foiling the big plan to kill Klaus, she woke up something in Stefan that caused him to care enough to want to save Damon's life.

What I Didn't Like

Tyler's attitude is a little annoying, and I don't blame Caroline for not wanting to stand by him unquestionably. He wants to help Klaus, and since Klaus is the bad-guy, it kind of puts a crimp on things.

I can't believe Elena stabbed Rebekah! She's probably lost her trust forever now, if/when she wakes up.

Twists and Turns

Elena daggered Rebekah to keep her from messing up the plan.

The gang sent Katherine to the homecoming dance in Elena's place.

Stefan stops Damon from killing Klaus, allowing Klaus to grab the stake and kill Mikael instead.

Katherine and Stefan were really working together to stop Damon from killing Klaus, since that would have resulted in Klaus' army killing Damon.

Stefan has his freedom, and uses it to kidnap all of Klaus' daggered family members.

Observations

Damon and Elena essentially are giving up on Stefan. They think he was trying to protect Klaus, when really he was trying to protect Damon. That could all be cleared up by Stefan talking to them, now that he's free of compulsion, but it looks like Stefan might just be embracing his darker side, fearing that there's no turning back after the things he's done.

Jeremy and Alaric are a little bit plotless right now (they didn't even appear in this episode), as is Bonnie. I hear there are a lot of casting rumors for when the show comes back in January, though, so hopefully we will pick up on their stories soon.

Overall

Overall it wasn't a bad way to end the fall season. I'm curious what Stefan has planned, and I did not see that twist with him and Katherine coming at all. I'm also curious if they're actually going to have Damon and Elena pursue anything together, given that they think Stefan is gone for good. Their scenes together are cute, and not that I think it's a very good idea, but it would be interesting to see where they'd go with that. In the end, though, I have a feeling that Elena is going to end up back with Matt. She and Matt (along with Bonnie, Jeremy, and Alaric) are the only humans left on the show. Caroline, Tyler, Damon, Stefan, Katherine, and pretty much everybody else are ageless vampires/hybrids, who will never grow up. Relationships between humans and vampires seem doomed to fail, and Elena does not seem interested in becoming a vampire.

Monday, November 21, 2011

How I Met Your Mother 7.11 - The Rebound Girl



How I Met Your Mother 7.11 - The Rebound Girl

Brief Summary

Ted and Barney, both feeling down after having so many bad experiences with women, decide, while they were in a bad place mind you, that they should adopt a baby together. Meanwhile, Marshall and Lily start seriously considering moving to the house Lily's grandparents left her, and Robin does her best to convince them not to.

What I Liked

The shrinking apartment. It was hilarious that every scene, the apartment seemed to get smaller and smaller. And Robin randomly knocking over lamps was pretty funny.

Barney and Ted's storyline started off funny, but got old fast for me. I feel like that should have been a one-off, or a C-plot, not the main plot of an episode. I'd already seen promotional photos for the episode involving James and his husband, so I knew Barney hadn't really kidnapped a baby.

What I Didn't Like

Kind of discussed above, the whole episode was kind of wasted time for me after everything that went down last week. Barney and Robin had one scene together at the very end of the episode, where he has to seek her out to make sure that they're still friends. She doesn't apologize for her behavior, mind you, or even give an explanation. And then she says that she's pregnant.

Twists and Turns

Robin tells Barney that she's pregnant.

Marshall and Lily are probably going to sell their tiny apartment and move to their new house.

Observations

I read somewhere that this episode would redeem Robin, but it didn't at all. She didn't even seek Barney out or try to talk to him. It looks like she was actively avoiding him for weeks and spending time with Marshall and Lily. In the end, he has to be the one to find her and talk to her. He has every right to be angry and to expect some sort of explanation, but instead he just wants to make sure they're still friends. He loves her so much that he's willing to brush aside the fact that she broke his heart.

And as for the pregnancy announcement, I don't for one second believe they'd actually have Robin be pregnant. They can't write two pregnancies at once, and have two babies on the show next year. And the "Who's the father?" question would be far too soap opera for a sitcom. I'm sure next week we'll see Barney and Kevin's reactions, and it'll end up that she's not pregnant.

However, this puts us right back at square one with these two. All the development this season has been leading up to nothing if that's the case. Obviously they aren't going to get back together when Robin figures out she's not pregnant. (And yes, I refuse to acknowledge a scenario where she is really pregnant. It just makes that little sense to me.) Just ... argh. I don't even know. Unless this next episode (which airs in two weeks) pulls all these haphazard storylines together, I'm ready to say this is my second-least favorite season. (Just after Season 5.)

Overall

A ridiculous joke that got stretched into an entire episode, with barely any discussion on the massive events that occurred in the last two episodes. 7.09 was amazing and had such promise, but 7.10 took that and turned it bitter, and this week through us for a loop in the last seconds of the episode. Yes, it's surprising. But is it good? I'm not feeling it right now.

Sunday, November 20, 2011

Young Justice 1.18 - Secrets



Young Justice 1.18 - Secrets


Brief Summary

Conner, Megan, and Wally go to a school Halloween dance. Artemis, jealous that Megan and Conner are a couple, decides to have a girl's night out with Zatanna, where the two run into a crazed man named Harm who wields a magical sword. Meanwhile, Red Arrow, Aqualad, Robin, Batman, and Red Tornado discuss the likelihood of a mole in the group.

What I Liked

The meeting about the mole. I like that Robin seemed to already know Artemis' secret, and the discussion brought up some points that I'd actually wondered about. Maybe Superboy is the mole without realizing it.

Zatanna is a cool character, and it was nice to see her and Artemis show off their powers a bit.

I know Secret is a character from the original Young Justice comic, so it was cool for her to have an appearance.

What I Didn't Like

The whole dance/prank subplot didn't do much for me. It was cute seeing Megan and Conner in a more light-hearted scenario, but all they really did was scare one of their classmates who was staging a prank. Also, how dense is Wally? Even Zatanna could pick up on the fact that Megan and Conner are dating. Guess he only sees what he wants to see!

Twists and Turns

Not too many, unless you consider the fact that Artemis finally figures out that Conner and Megan are a couple.

Observations

Interesting that Artemis seems to have a thing for Superboy. She and Wally might be able to commiserate over the fact that both of their crushes are dating each other.

Again, I like how Robin assumes that Artemis' secret identity is common knowledge. But then, we already knew he knew about her back in the "Home Front" episode, since he saw her at school.

Miss Martian's background gets sketchier and sketchier. I'm still betting she's really a white martian, who may not even be related to Martian Manhunter.

Overall

A good episode! I wish there had been a little more to the Robin/Aqualad/Red Arrow subplot and a little less with the dance prank, though.

Tuesday, November 15, 2011

Young Justice 1.17 - Disordered




Young Justice 1.17 - Disordered


Brief Summary

Each member of the team gets a therapy session with Black Canary to try to work out the trauma/emotions from their training session gone wrong. Meanwhile, Superboy notices that his sphere has morphed into a bike, and he takes it out for a spin with Wolf. He runs into a group of technological beings from another planet, who say sphere is theirs.

What I Liked

I liked the sessions with Canary. Everybody had their own issues to work out, and it was nice to get a little more character development out of the gang.

Superboy seems to be settling into his character a little bit more. I like how he's not so angry, and how he seems to have soft spots for the sphere and his wolf.

What I Didn't Like

It seems to be kind of the thing on Young Justice to be sort of "hero of the week + villain of the week." We meet up with some random heroes, and also a random villain. I'm not sure who the folks were that Superboy met up with this week, but I didn't learn much about them except that they operate sort of like Power Rangers. At one point, Superboy was like, "Whoa, wait. I've been patient, but what is going on?!" That's how I felt.


Twists and Turns

Sphere is actually from some other planet/universe. Why was it in the desert in the first place, then? I need to rewatch that Bereft episode.

Aqualad has some serious doubts about staying the leader, but can't think of a suitable replacement. I'd say they should just let Roy/Red Arrow be the leader, but he's such a loner that he might not even be willing to do it. But he's older, he can clearly handle himself, and he's got the team's best interests in mind.

Observations

The therapy sessions were very revealing. Aqualad wanted to relinquish his post as leader, but realized that the only one qualified to take over is Robin, and he doesn't want to give that responsibility to someone so young. Wally was nonchalant about everything except when Canary mentioned his extreme reaction to Artemis' death. Canary urged Artemis to come forward about her own secrets, but she declined. Megan was afraid of the trouble she'd caused, and freaked out a bit when Canary mentioned she'd "turned white." I have a feeling Megan might actually be one of the white martians that she'd mentioned a few episodes ago. Robin was visibly upset, and didn't like that he had to send his friends to their dooms in order to do what needed to be done. He also confided he didn't really want to be like Batman anymore.

Most interesting was Superboy who said he didn't feel anything when everyone died.

Overall

A good episode. I liked the insight to the characters through the sessions, and it leaves a lot of things to think about. I still think all this talk about Aqualad vs Robin as the leader is foreshadowing something.

Monday, November 14, 2011

How I Met Your Mother 7.10 - Tick, Tick, Tick...



How I Met Your Mother 7.10 - Tick, Tick, Tick...

Brief Summary

First off, I promise I will catch up on the other shows' reviews soon!

In the wake of their tryst, Barney and Robin try to figure out how to fess up to Nora and Kevin. They also must decide what the night meant to them, and if they want to try to be together again. Meanwhile, Ted and Marshall spend the episode on an epic quest for nachos while at a concert with Lily. Unfortunately, the two are high as a kite and end up in line for the ladies' room more the once.

What I Liked

This episode was about as sad at they come, and had me on the edge of my seat waiting with bated breath to see what would happen. My only reprieve was yelling at Marshall and Ted as they'd wander back into the line for the ladies' room time and time again!

Barney. Barney was so sweet. He instantly says that the night meant something to him, tells Robin that he wants to be together with her, and does the mature thing and breaks up with Nora after telling her the truth.

Ted. His wandering around searching for nachos was ridiculous, but the brief moment at the end of the episode where he sees Barney ... I think that's setting up for some future story lines between the two, which I am all for. Barney and Ted's friendship is great.

The montage Barney sees of all the moments he and Robin have had over the years, with Nora's father narrating in the background. He sees Robin as his soul-mate, his best friend, the person he wants to spend his life with. All that is big stuff coming from the most commitment-phobic person on the planet.

And although it was heartbreakingly sad, the scene of Barney collecting up the petals and blowing out the candles in Robin's room.

What I Didn't Like

I don't understand Robin. Why in the world would she choose Kevin over Barney? The only reason I can think of is that she's scared. Scared because Barney and she tried and failed, and Kevin seems to be safe and reassuring. But she broke Barney's heart into a million pieces at the end, and in the moment after she shakes her head "no," Barney just stands there so utterly crushed.

Twists and Turns

Barney and Robin slept together after their cab kiss.

Barney breaks up with Nora.

Robin does not break up with Kevin, and shows up with him at the bar after she and Barney had agreed to meet there to discuss their future together.

Ted sees that Barney had decorated Robin's room, although he might not have been completely sober.

Observations

Robin completely crushed Barney, and it's hard to figure out why. She's been pining after him for ages. She couldn't even text him to let him know their plan was off before showing up at the bar with Kevin? She couldn't have come to the bar alone and talk to him? He put his heart out there, and the only thing she gave him was a half-shake of her head "no," and a veiled "I'm sorry." The only thing, and I mean the only thing that is even somewhat reasonable is that she really is just too scared. Barney was ready to start a relationship with her right then. And maybe that scared her, since they'd already tried and failed before. She'd spent so much time pining, and was even the one fishing for a reaction in the cab last week, maybe she hadn't actually thought out what would happen if he reciprocated her feelings.

Overall

This has got to be one of the saddest episodes of How I Met Your Mother. More crushing than anything else we've seen before between anyone's relationship. Going forward, I'd rather see Barney as the one who is pining/hurt, since it brings out his more vulnerable and softer side that we don't often see, but Robin was needlessly cruel in her rejection of him. Why did she even go after him if that was the way she was going to be about it? The ball is now completely in her court if this couple is ever going to get back together. Barney will likely put up all walls again, and she'll really have to work if she wants to win him back.

Monday, November 7, 2011

How I Met Your Mother 7.09 - Disaster Averted



How I Met Your Mother 7.09 - Disaster Averted

Brief Summary

As Barney tries to convince Marshall to let him out of the ducky tie bet, the gang reminisces about Hurricane Irene back in August 2011.

What I Liked

Oh my goodness, what didn't I like about this one? It was like the complete opposite of Noretta.

Marshall's paranoia about getting attacked by a bear due to his lack of health insurance was hilarious. Especially the bear in the bathroom ... after he squirted soap in his eye!

Barney pleading to get out of the ducky tie bet. I'll gladly take another slap to the slap bet over him wearing that ugly tie every episode. The opening sequence, his hilariously ridiculous story of how he "lost" the tie, was also great.

Barney suddenly changing his mind about wanting to leave after his dad called.

Marshall's version of what Lily said after he left the room.

The whole scene in the rain where the gang is playing in the puddles and watching Marshall boogie board.

Robin and Barney's cab ride. The scene in the rain that took place in August, where the two almost kissed before being interrupted by Robin's phone, was so sweet. Barney's awkward, "Any day I don't talk to you is ... just no good." was so cute. And then to follow it up with the two of them making fun of the fact that they could have kissed ... and then they actually do start kissing. Absolutely wonderful payoff!

What I Didn't Like

Ted wanting to leave Barney behind for some random chick! My goodness, you think he'd value his friendship more than that.

Barney's calling Robin up pretending to be her father was low, but he apologized for it later, so that's all good.

Twists and Turns

Barney is officially out of the ducky tie bet, but 3 extra slaps were added to the original slap bet. (Marshall used two of them right there, though, so there is 2 slaps left.)

Barney and Robin had almost kissed back before their original cab heart-to-heart about having loved each other in September. I wonder if that is what helped prompt the conversation in the first place?

Baby Erickson was conceived in Barney's bathroom.

Barney and Robin started making out in the cab at the end of the episode, even though both of them are in relationships with other people!

Observations

Whoa, so much happened in just like the last 6 minutes. Barney and Robin had already almost given in to their mutual attraction back in August, which means the September cab chat wasn't just out of the blue. Also, their kiss being interrupted by Robin's dad very much mirrors what happened with the two of them after their dance when Nora called.

So much could happen from here. They could leave it at a kiss, or they could sleep together, similarly to what happened at the end of Sandcastles in the Sand. Either way, I doubt they're going to get back together just yet. While I'm sure Nora and Kevin breakups are coming around the corner, I wonder if Robin will hold back on sharing her true feelings? If she says it was just a mistake, I can see Barney believing her. I can also see Barney accidentally saying something that causes Robin not to want to share her feelings.

Robin and Barney stuff aside, Barney's out of the ducky tie bet, and yet he's seen wearing it in the flashforward to Atlantic City with Marshall. Something obviously happens that forces him to wear the tie again. Also, we still haven't figured out why Ted will be donning a green dress toward the end of the season, as seen in the flashforward from The Mermaid Theory.

Overall

This was definitely tied as my favorite episodes this season ... if not the favorite episode. Probably one of my favorites overall. It was just so good! It had laughs, heart, and aside from the whole gang being simply so cute playing in the rain, the Robin and Barney moments were great. After the dance scene in the premiere, we've been waiting for something big to happen between the two, so it's nice to finally see some sparks. Although I'm very curious where this is all heading, especially in the short-term, I have a feeling these two will definitely end up together in the end.

The Big Bang Theory 5.08 - The Isolation Permutation


The Big Bang Theory 5.08 - The Isolation Permutation


Brief Summary

Amy is upset when Bernadette and Penny go dress shopping without her. When Sheldon tries to console her, though, he gets more than he bargained for.

What I Liked

Amy is my favorite character on the show, and I love her interactions with Sheldon. Her awkwardly wrapping her arms around him so the two could cuddle was hilarious. I also liked his negotiating for less intimacy. "French kissing?" "A neck massage?"

Raj's random comments about dresses and cap sleeves were great. "Who here knows what a sweetheart neckline is?!" And Raj slowly raises his hand, haha.

What I Didn't Like

Although I do like Amy, I feel that this one took her oddballness and put it over the top just a bit. I loved her crying and playing the harp, but the end tag with her being bossy and insulting while the girls were wedding dress shopping was a little odd. She's usually not so into putting the others down.

Twists and Turns

Nothing big.

Observations

Amy is clearly down with physical intimacy, and Sheldon doesn't seem to be on the same page at all. He was outraged he was forced to cuddle, and demanded Leonard and Howard "get their women in line" so he wouldn't have to do it again. I wonder if this storyline will go anywhere. We know Sheldon got possessive of Amy when Leonard went with her to that wedding, but he doesn't seem to want anything more out of their relationship. Although, I could totally see Leonard and Amy getting drunk and hooking up, especially now that Leonard is single.

Overall

Funny, but I felt like it went just a little bit over the top.

The Big Bang Theory 5.07 - The Good Guy Fluctuation


The Big Bang Theory 5.07 - The Good Guy Fluctuation


Brief Summary

Leonard meets a cute girl who's into comic books, and decides to hang out with her despite the fact that he already has a girlfriend. Meanwhile, after falling for a prank that Howard and Raj set up for him, Sheldon tries his hardest to scare the rest of the gang.

What I Liked

Raj and the snake. I love how he just cooes at it, picks it up, and takes it out of the room.

Howard and the heart condition. Sheldon was freaking out, and I myself was wondering where in the world they were heading when it was revealed to just be a prank.

Leonard finally broke up with Priya! Obviously that wasn't going to last.

Loved the final scare, with Sheldon hiding in the couch. I shouldn't mention that one to my friends, as they're always coming into my apartment before I get home and trying to scare me.

What I Didn't Like

There wasn't anything that bad about this episode.

Twists and Turns

Leonard and Priya are over.

Observations

They still haven't really gone back to the whole Penny/Raj thing from the premeire. Penny never told what really happened, so presumably everyone still thinks they did it. I wonder if this will cause Leonard to not want to go after her again? We already know Penny still likes Leonard.

Overall

A funny episode, although not the best.

Castle 4.07 - Cops and Robbers


Castle 4.07 - Cops and Robbers


Brief Summary

Castle and his mom are among the hostages when a ground of scrub-wearing crooks hold up a bank. Beckett unwillingly becomes the hostage negotiator, and Castle tries to figure out what the crooks want from the inside.

What I Liked

I thought the episode was really exciting, a bit a deviation from the norm for the show. Some parts of it were a little far-fetched, but I liked that we could see very clearly the Beckett was really worried about her partner.

What I Didn't Like

The morse-code bit seemed a little far-fetched to me, but maybe detectives pay more attention to little things like that than I would. I would say I didn't like that the real culprit turned out to be one of the hostages, but that actually was a twist I didn't see coming.

Twists and Turns

The mastermind turned out to be the epileptic hostage who was taken out before the bomb went off.

Alexis broke up with her boyfriend.

Observations

I wonder how long Beckett and Castle can keep up this facade of not admitting their feelings. Castle was willing to do it before, when Beckett was shot, so I wonder if he'll ever get the courage to try to tell her again? And Beckett already really knows that.

I was sad Alexis broke up with Ashley, but anyone could see that coming from a mile away. He seemed like such a nice guy when he was around, but I will admit that long-distance does not work well, so it's not surprising.

Overall

A good episode, hopefully bringing our main characters a little closer to admitting their feelings for each other.

Young Justice 1.16 - Failsafe



Young Justice 1.16 - Failsafe



Brief Summary

Aliens are invading Earth, and the Justice League are falling one by one. When no one is left but the Young Justice team, they set out to stop the invasion themselves, and rescue the Justice League, who they hope have only been teleported into the mothership and not vaporized.

What I Liked

While I'm a fan of episodes that build up a little bit more, it was kind of cool to see the team in a high-stakes mission. The team worked well together, and I particularly liked when Robin sort of took over command after Aqualad "died." I still can't help but think that's a bit of foreshadowing.

What I Didn't Like

Again, I don't really like when episodes just jump right in. We had no background on what was going on, and it all seemed sort of like an episode that should be taking place like mid-second or third season or something, not randomly in the first season.

And I absolutely hate the "it was all a dream" sort of endings. So essentially, all the episode did was tell us that Miss Martian has lots of power?

Twists and Turns

The big one, of course, being that the whole episode was just a training exercise.

Miss Martian is very powerful, and also very emotional.

Observations

I really enjoyed all the little cameos by characters we don't see much, like Red Arrow, Garth and Tula, Wonder Woman, and even Barbara Gordon. I was a bit bummed out that Red Arrow and Garth didn't get to help out, though. I was also going to be particularly disappointed that Barbara didn't appear to be Batgirl-suiting-up to help, but seeing as how it was just an illusion, and Martian Manhunter has no way of knowing if Barbara leads a double life, I guess that doesn't mean anything concrete.

Also noticed the little cameo by Iris, and loved her awkward, "Thanks...Flash" when he saved her.

Noted was Wally's reaction to Artemis' "death," and he determination to get revenge or rescue her. Obviously they're playing toward something happening between those two eventually. Miss M also used the L-word with Superboy, though, it was just a dream, so I don't know if that'll have any lasting consequences.

I think part of the problem in episodes like these is that it's trying to do a little too much at once now. I know a few episodes ago I was complaining that not everyone was in every episode, but episodes like Revalation and Failsafe have just a smidge too much going on. I'm sure there's a happy medium somewhere, and it's not to say that the episodes are bad. All of Young Justice has been good so far, just sometimes I wish it would slow down a little bit.

Overall

Not my favorite by a longshot, but there were some good moments.

Friday, November 4, 2011

The Vampire Diaries 3.08 - Ordinary People



The Vampire Diaries 3.08 - Ordinary People

Brief Summary

Alaric tries to decipher the ancient writing they found on the cave on the Lockwood property, while Elena tries to get Rebekah to talk about her family's past. Meanwhile, Damon lets Stefan loose for a night on the town, but they run into vampire hunter Mikael unexpectedly.

What I Liked

I didn't care for this episode overall, but that scene at the end between Elena and Damon was too cute! Starting with her trying to tug her bedspread out from under him, and then giving up and just climbing into bed anyway. She turns off the light, doesn't even bother shooing him away, and just says she'll tell him the rest of the story tomorrow. Awww....

I also enjoyed their banter in the beginning as she's trying to practice attacking him. I'm not one of those people who's hard up on Damon and Elena getting together, but their friendship is so cute, and it's had so many moments this season.

What I Didn't Like

The flashback. It didn't make a whole lot of sense to me, and I was under the impression that Elijah had a huge family, not just a brother and sister. (And one brother who died.) If that were the case, and he already knew of Klaus' whereabouts, the only "family members" he could have been searching for were his father and Rebekah.

Elijah was also barely in the flashback, and had somewhat ridiculous hair.

Twists and Turns

Klaus, Elijah, and Rebekah's mother was the original witch. (And the only which we've seen who isn't African American. I've always wondered about that on the show.) Their father is Mikael, the vampire hunter.

Observations

Stefan still doesn't interest me much. He's always been the weaker of the brothers, and while Damon was originally presented as very self-interested, morally flexible, and willing to give in to his desires for blood, he has infinitely more control than Stefan. I'm glad he didn't let anyone get killed at the bar. And under this compulsion, are we to believe that Stefan really is just looking out for his own interests in saving Damon, or is he breaking through? I don't believe he'd be breaking through, honestly, and I'm kind of tired of his struggle.

At least Elena seems to be "giving up" somewhat, which I definitely think she needs to do.

No Matt, Jeremy, Tyler, Caroline, and minimal Bonnie.

Overall

Not a great episode, in my opinion, but I loved the rapport between Damon and Elena, and the scenes with Damon and Stefan were also worthwhile.

Tuesday, November 1, 2011

How I Met Your Mother 7.08 - The Slutty Pumpkin Returns



How I Met Your Mother 7.08 - The Slutty Pumpkin Returns



Brief Summary

Ted finally tracks down the girl in the slutty pumpkin costume from the rooftop Halloween party ten years earlier. Only problem is, they make a terrible couple. Meanwhile, Lily deals with forgetfulness due to her pregnancy as she and Marshall debate whether or not to move to the suburbs into a house that her grandparents have left her. Robin disocovers that Barney's grandmother on his dad's side was from Canada, making Barney 1/4 Canadian. She teases him incesantly as payback for all the years of Canada jokes.

What I Liked

Barney and Robin's storyline was very funny, and it only makes sense that Robin would pick on Barney about his previously unknown Canadian heritage. Her excitedly waiting at the Halloween party for him to show up in the mountie costume was great, as was his rebelling against all things Canada.

Lily's pregnancy-brain story was hilarious. Crying over ice cubes, putting her wallet and keys in the freezer, getting lost on the way back from the bathroom, and handing out a stapler, scissors, and a bottle of wine instead of candy to the trick or treaters were just some of her antics. "I'm really gonna miss that stapler!"

The cutaway of Lily walking into their smokey apartment with the smoke alarm going off, Marshall passed out on the floor with a grill next to him. Also, his excitement over the free stuff Lily's grandparents would give them that they had no use for.

What I Didn't Like

I wasn't really feeling Ted and Naomi/the slutty pumpkin's storyline. They were terribly awkward together, which was the point, but it just wasn't as funny to me as I thought it was going to be. At least the awkwardness wasn't just coming from Ted's point of view. She also thought he was awkward!

I feel like the entire episode was a bit rushed. There were probably too many plots trying to be covered, between Lily's pregnancy brain, Marshall and Lily deciding whether or not to live in the suburbs, Barney and Robin's Canadian stuff, and Ted and Naomi's awkwardness. It didn't flow as well as I thought it should, and I was a little disappointed by the fact that there wasn't any real character development from anyone. The tag, while goofy, was also a slight letdown. I would have prefered Robin have decorated Barney's apartment with a bunch of Canadian stuff or something of the like.

Twists and Turns

For all his hating Canada, Barney is 1/4 Canadian!

The slutty pumpkin turned out to be the totally wrong girl for Ted.

Lily and Marshall now have a house in the suburbs. Whether or not they'll end up living in it is anyone's guess.

Observations

Barney is still sporting the ducky tie, even in his American boxer costume. (He had it tied to his arm.)

Robin's clothes this season have been, for lack of better words, just awful. She doesn't look cute or even particularly feminine in hardly anything she wears. It's been a lot of bad colors, and baggy shirts. I know the actress is a bit thinner than she used to be, and I'm not a huge fan of her current hairstyle, but she could look way cuter than they're presenting her, unless it's a conscious decision for some reason? Robin does tend to dress badly when she's depressed, and it could be due to the Barney-pining. (Although, you'd think she'd try to dress up provacatively or something, to attract some attention.)

No Kevin or Nora this episode. Kevin may as well not exist as he wasn't even mentioned, and Barney only grumbled that he already had a girlfriend when Marshall mentioned "helpless drunk chicks" at the bar.

I like how they're wrapping up Ted's old loose ends. First Victoria, and now the slutty pumpkin. I see they're slowly getting rid of all the girls that "got away" as we're coming up on the wedding where Ted will meet the mother. It's a nice touch.

Also a nice touch, and really noticable if you watch the original Slutty Pumpkin episode, is that future Ted said that Aunt Robin really likes dressing up for Halloween, but that she didn't always. In 2005, Ted told Robin that one day she'd meet someone that she'd want to dress up for. This is the first Halloween that we've seen Robin actually wear a costume for the occassion, and she's dressing up for Barney. Sure, it's a joke at his expense, but I think it's significant. They don't drive the point home or anything specific, but it's a subtle clue to those of us paying attention.

Overall

What we had was good, but the episode felt very short and a little all over the place. I think there were some subtle hints at things to come, which I'm sure will be fun to look back on as we progress through the season.