Monday, December 5, 2011

How I Met Your Mother 7.12 - Symphony of Illumination




How I Met Your Mother 7.12 - Symphony of Illumination




Brief Summary

Robin freaks out when she thinks she might be pregnant, and is surprised when Barney is excited about it. As it turns out she's not actually pregnant, but instead can't have children at all. She keeps this secret to herself, and all of her friends try to cheer her up despite not knowing what's wrong. Meanwhile, Marshall is decorating for Christmas with the help of a teenage neighbor. Unfortunately his neighbor leaves him trapped on the roof while he throws a party in Marshall's house.

What I Liked and Disliked

I actually will start with what I hated about this episode right off the bat: the fact that the entire framing device of the episode turned out to be a fantasy.

We're presented with two cute teenagers sitting on a sofa, a boy and a girl, who look pretty much exactly like Barney and Robin. Robin is telling them the story of how she met their father, and decides to skip ahead to the part where she told him she was pregnant. When then go back to the bathroom scene where Barney reacts to Robin's news. Throughout the episode, she talks to the kids and describes the events that happened, even apologizing to them when she and Barney celebrate over the fact that she's not pregnant.

But then, towards the end of the episode, after Robin finds out she can't have children, she abruptly declares that she's glad the kids aren't real, and they fade away.

I'm sorry, but that has got to be the meanest thing this show has ever done to its audience. The tragedy of the fact that Robin can't have children as far as we know is upsetting, but it's even worse when they dangle a happy ending in our face and then snatch it away.

The only other things I liked about this episode were Barney's wanting to prevent Robin from drinking when he thought she was pregnant, and his reaction to the thought of having a baby. Ted being a good friend at the end was sweet, but I expected more interaction from Barney. They just had a freaking pregnancy scare, and although they both were happy about it being a false alarm, Barney truly does love Robin, and want children. You'd think there would have been a discussion in there somewhere. There was essentially no character development here.

Twists and Turns

The framing device with Robin and Barney's children is a fantasy.

Robin isn't pregnant, and Dr. Sonia told her she can't have children.

Observations

Although the end heavily implies that Robin never became a mom by using the metaphor "pole vaulter," it's vague enough that they could still change their mind about that. It doesn't really seem like they will, but it still has never been explicitely stated she never has kids.

I'm sure they're going to use this plot point as another wedge between Barney and Robin. Barney really wants children, Robin can't have them as far as we know. I'm sure he would rather be with her than have kids, but I could see her distancing herself from him because of that. However, my beef with Robin right now is it doesn't seem like she even wants to be with Barney at all.

And for all the pregnancy scare between the two, would it have killed them to have an actual conversation about it? This was a big, possibly life-changing event that almost happened, and never did they address what they would do if the pregnancy were real. The whole thing was played for laughs, up to and including the announcement that she wasn't pregnant. I feel like Barney, especially the Barney from two episodes ago who spilled his heart to Robin about how he wanted them to be together, would have wanted to discuss it. Instead, we're given a sweet scene between Ted and Robin where he tries to cheer her up, and Barney is nowhere to be found.

Overall

I'm pretty depressed with where the show has gone. There was no need for the cruel use of the cute Barney and Robin children, only to have the whole thing be ripped out from under us as a fantasy. That's the only part about this episode that incited any sort of emotional reaction from me. We're still at a point where I feel like Robin doesn't even want to be with Barney, and Barney wants to be with her unconditionally. (He was even okay with being friends with benefits.) How is that redeeming Robin's character for us?

Monday, November 28, 2011

Round Up: Fall 2011

Hello everybody! Looks like I've attracted a few readers during my Fall 2011 run at reviewing. Nice to have you! If anyone else is just browsing, leave a comment and let me know your thoughts! I love discussing and speculating plot twists.

For the Winter/Spring 2012 TV season, I think I might consider dropping Castle from my lineup of coverage. I'm just not as into the show as I feel like I should be to review it. I ended up fast-forwarding through a lot of the episode from two weeks ago, and although last week's was pretty intense, I don't always find the show that interesting. (And thus my reviews are not really that interesting.)

I'd also consider adding Community as a new feature, however, the show is going to be on a winter hiatus for an indeterminate amount of time. When it returns, however, I will definitely add it to my list of shows to review. I discovered it a few weeks ago, and have quickly caught up on all 2 and a half seasons so far. There are two more new episodes until the break, but I haven't decided whether or not if I'll review those two.

The Vampire Diaries is already on hiatus until January 5. I put up the review for 3.09 today.

How I Met Your Mother looks to have one more episode before the winter break, 7.12, which will air on December 5. I have to take back some of my previous speculation, since it looks like Robin's pregnancy is for real. The next episode, called Symphony of Illumination looks to be heading into some depressing territory, though, much like last season's Last Words did. This whole season has been pretty up-and-down for me, so I'm a little apprehensive about how this next episode is going to play out. Also a little concerned since reports are already out about Barney's next potential love interest. How are we even supposed to care about a new love interest when we had that soulmate montage involving Robin two weeks ago? We'll see where the show goes, but right now, they're on thin ice in my book.

I assume The Big Bang Theory will also show up until 5.12, meaning they have 2 episodes left. Nothing really exciting or speculation-worthy seems to happen on that show, however, I assume at least one of those episodes will be Christmas-themed.

Also assuming that Young Justice will continue to play episodes as scheduled until the end of the season. 1.19, titled Misplaced, is scheduled to air December 9. The series was already renewed for a second season, which is supposedly about an alien invasion. We've certainly seen that theme forshadowed quite a bit this season, with the whole plot of Failsafe revolving around alien intruders, and the subplot of last week's Secrets having to do with a fake alien rumor. I'm personally not a huge fan of the outerspace/alien plotlines, but I'll wait to pass judgement until we see how it plays out.

If anyone has any comments or suggestions for the blog, please let me know!

Thanks for reading.

The Big Bang Theory 5.10 - The Flaming Spittoon Acquisition



The Big Bang Theory 5.10 - The Flaming Spittoon Acquisition



Brief Summary

Stewart from the comic book store asks Amy out on a date. Sheldon gets jealous, and is forced to solidify his relationship with her in order to prevent her from seeing other guys. Meanwhile, Raj buys a new World of Warcraft card came, forcing Howard and Leonard to buy it too.

What I Liked

Sheldon's reluctance at asking Amy to be his girlfriend was cute. I also liked that he did up a "Girlfriend Agreement," with such terms as limiting hand-holding to only certain occasions, and making Amy responsible for taking care of him when he gets a splinter.

I also enjoyed seeing Sheldon try to ask Penny out on a date to get back at Amy for going out with Stewart.

The guys buying the cards wasn't really that funny, but I like that they all reluctantly buy it and play it even after making fun of it.

What I Didn't Like

Not much to dislike in this one.

Twists and Turns

Amy and Sheldon are actually girlfriend/boyfriend now! Of course, nothing really changed.

Observations

It's nice that Amy and Sheldon are a little more "official," even though not much is going to be different. (Except Amy's bound by whatever the heck Sheldon put in that agreement.)

Overall

A pretty good episode.

The Big Bang Theory 5.09 - The Onithophobia Diffusion



The Big Bang Theory 5.09 - The Ornithophobia Diffusion


Brief Summary

Sheldon tries desperately to get rid of a bird that's seated outside his window. Penny and Leonard try to go to the movies strictly as friends, but it doesn't go that well.

What I Liked

Sheldon and the bird was amusing. I liked when he was posing for photos with it. I also liked Amy's grumble about needing hollow bones in order to get any love from Sheldon.

Leonard and Penny's story had a few fair laughs.

What I Disliked

I don't like the Leonard seems to catagorize all aspects of his relationship with Penny in terms of sex. Although he may just be using that as a defense mechanism, he comes off as a jerk who never really cared about anything they did together.

Twists and Turns

The bird flies away just after Sheldon starts to like it.

Observations

Penny and Leonard don't have a very good night out as "just friends," and it's no wonder why. Amy and Bernadette have only a small part in Sheldon's story, and I don't recall Howard and Raj doing anything of note this week.

Overall

Not the funniest episode, but not too bad, either.

The Vampire Diaries 3.09 - Homecoming


The Vampire Diaries 3.09 - Homecoming


Brief Summary

The big homecoming dance has been moved from the school to Tyler's place due to a flood, but as it turns out, Tyler's not actually the one running the show. Meanwhile, Stefan, Elena, and Damon try to forge a plan with Mikael to get rid of Klaus once and for all. But as usual, not everything goes off without a hitch.

What I Liked

Matt. He didn't really do much except take Caroline home, but his comments and presence are grounding. Everyone else is a vampire or a hybrid or a witch or a doppleganger, and here he is just this average Joe.

Katherine. I always enjoy Katherine's quips and schemes, and here she was actually being helpful. Although she ended up foiling the big plan to kill Klaus, she woke up something in Stefan that caused him to care enough to want to save Damon's life.

What I Didn't Like

Tyler's attitude is a little annoying, and I don't blame Caroline for not wanting to stand by him unquestionably. He wants to help Klaus, and since Klaus is the bad-guy, it kind of puts a crimp on things.

I can't believe Elena stabbed Rebekah! She's probably lost her trust forever now, if/when she wakes up.

Twists and Turns

Elena daggered Rebekah to keep her from messing up the plan.

The gang sent Katherine to the homecoming dance in Elena's place.

Stefan stops Damon from killing Klaus, allowing Klaus to grab the stake and kill Mikael instead.

Katherine and Stefan were really working together to stop Damon from killing Klaus, since that would have resulted in Klaus' army killing Damon.

Stefan has his freedom, and uses it to kidnap all of Klaus' daggered family members.

Observations

Damon and Elena essentially are giving up on Stefan. They think he was trying to protect Klaus, when really he was trying to protect Damon. That could all be cleared up by Stefan talking to them, now that he's free of compulsion, but it looks like Stefan might just be embracing his darker side, fearing that there's no turning back after the things he's done.

Jeremy and Alaric are a little bit plotless right now (they didn't even appear in this episode), as is Bonnie. I hear there are a lot of casting rumors for when the show comes back in January, though, so hopefully we will pick up on their stories soon.

Overall

Overall it wasn't a bad way to end the fall season. I'm curious what Stefan has planned, and I did not see that twist with him and Katherine coming at all. I'm also curious if they're actually going to have Damon and Elena pursue anything together, given that they think Stefan is gone for good. Their scenes together are cute, and not that I think it's a very good idea, but it would be interesting to see where they'd go with that. In the end, though, I have a feeling that Elena is going to end up back with Matt. She and Matt (along with Bonnie, Jeremy, and Alaric) are the only humans left on the show. Caroline, Tyler, Damon, Stefan, Katherine, and pretty much everybody else are ageless vampires/hybrids, who will never grow up. Relationships between humans and vampires seem doomed to fail, and Elena does not seem interested in becoming a vampire.

Monday, November 21, 2011

How I Met Your Mother 7.11 - The Rebound Girl



How I Met Your Mother 7.11 - The Rebound Girl

Brief Summary

Ted and Barney, both feeling down after having so many bad experiences with women, decide, while they were in a bad place mind you, that they should adopt a baby together. Meanwhile, Marshall and Lily start seriously considering moving to the house Lily's grandparents left her, and Robin does her best to convince them not to.

What I Liked

The shrinking apartment. It was hilarious that every scene, the apartment seemed to get smaller and smaller. And Robin randomly knocking over lamps was pretty funny.

Barney and Ted's storyline started off funny, but got old fast for me. I feel like that should have been a one-off, or a C-plot, not the main plot of an episode. I'd already seen promotional photos for the episode involving James and his husband, so I knew Barney hadn't really kidnapped a baby.

What I Didn't Like

Kind of discussed above, the whole episode was kind of wasted time for me after everything that went down last week. Barney and Robin had one scene together at the very end of the episode, where he has to seek her out to make sure that they're still friends. She doesn't apologize for her behavior, mind you, or even give an explanation. And then she says that she's pregnant.

Twists and Turns

Robin tells Barney that she's pregnant.

Marshall and Lily are probably going to sell their tiny apartment and move to their new house.

Observations

I read somewhere that this episode would redeem Robin, but it didn't at all. She didn't even seek Barney out or try to talk to him. It looks like she was actively avoiding him for weeks and spending time with Marshall and Lily. In the end, he has to be the one to find her and talk to her. He has every right to be angry and to expect some sort of explanation, but instead he just wants to make sure they're still friends. He loves her so much that he's willing to brush aside the fact that she broke his heart.

And as for the pregnancy announcement, I don't for one second believe they'd actually have Robin be pregnant. They can't write two pregnancies at once, and have two babies on the show next year. And the "Who's the father?" question would be far too soap opera for a sitcom. I'm sure next week we'll see Barney and Kevin's reactions, and it'll end up that she's not pregnant.

However, this puts us right back at square one with these two. All the development this season has been leading up to nothing if that's the case. Obviously they aren't going to get back together when Robin figures out she's not pregnant. (And yes, I refuse to acknowledge a scenario where she is really pregnant. It just makes that little sense to me.) Just ... argh. I don't even know. Unless this next episode (which airs in two weeks) pulls all these haphazard storylines together, I'm ready to say this is my second-least favorite season. (Just after Season 5.)

Overall

A ridiculous joke that got stretched into an entire episode, with barely any discussion on the massive events that occurred in the last two episodes. 7.09 was amazing and had such promise, but 7.10 took that and turned it bitter, and this week through us for a loop in the last seconds of the episode. Yes, it's surprising. But is it good? I'm not feeling it right now.

Sunday, November 20, 2011

Young Justice 1.18 - Secrets



Young Justice 1.18 - Secrets


Brief Summary

Conner, Megan, and Wally go to a school Halloween dance. Artemis, jealous that Megan and Conner are a couple, decides to have a girl's night out with Zatanna, where the two run into a crazed man named Harm who wields a magical sword. Meanwhile, Red Arrow, Aqualad, Robin, Batman, and Red Tornado discuss the likelihood of a mole in the group.

What I Liked

The meeting about the mole. I like that Robin seemed to already know Artemis' secret, and the discussion brought up some points that I'd actually wondered about. Maybe Superboy is the mole without realizing it.

Zatanna is a cool character, and it was nice to see her and Artemis show off their powers a bit.

I know Secret is a character from the original Young Justice comic, so it was cool for her to have an appearance.

What I Didn't Like

The whole dance/prank subplot didn't do much for me. It was cute seeing Megan and Conner in a more light-hearted scenario, but all they really did was scare one of their classmates who was staging a prank. Also, how dense is Wally? Even Zatanna could pick up on the fact that Megan and Conner are dating. Guess he only sees what he wants to see!

Twists and Turns

Not too many, unless you consider the fact that Artemis finally figures out that Conner and Megan are a couple.

Observations

Interesting that Artemis seems to have a thing for Superboy. She and Wally might be able to commiserate over the fact that both of their crushes are dating each other.

Again, I like how Robin assumes that Artemis' secret identity is common knowledge. But then, we already knew he knew about her back in the "Home Front" episode, since he saw her at school.

Miss Martian's background gets sketchier and sketchier. I'm still betting she's really a white martian, who may not even be related to Martian Manhunter.

Overall

A good episode! I wish there had been a little more to the Robin/Aqualad/Red Arrow subplot and a little less with the dance prank, though.

Tuesday, November 15, 2011

Young Justice 1.17 - Disordered




Young Justice 1.17 - Disordered


Brief Summary

Each member of the team gets a therapy session with Black Canary to try to work out the trauma/emotions from their training session gone wrong. Meanwhile, Superboy notices that his sphere has morphed into a bike, and he takes it out for a spin with Wolf. He runs into a group of technological beings from another planet, who say sphere is theirs.

What I Liked

I liked the sessions with Canary. Everybody had their own issues to work out, and it was nice to get a little more character development out of the gang.

Superboy seems to be settling into his character a little bit more. I like how he's not so angry, and how he seems to have soft spots for the sphere and his wolf.

What I Didn't Like

It seems to be kind of the thing on Young Justice to be sort of "hero of the week + villain of the week." We meet up with some random heroes, and also a random villain. I'm not sure who the folks were that Superboy met up with this week, but I didn't learn much about them except that they operate sort of like Power Rangers. At one point, Superboy was like, "Whoa, wait. I've been patient, but what is going on?!" That's how I felt.


Twists and Turns

Sphere is actually from some other planet/universe. Why was it in the desert in the first place, then? I need to rewatch that Bereft episode.

Aqualad has some serious doubts about staying the leader, but can't think of a suitable replacement. I'd say they should just let Roy/Red Arrow be the leader, but he's such a loner that he might not even be willing to do it. But he's older, he can clearly handle himself, and he's got the team's best interests in mind.

Observations

The therapy sessions were very revealing. Aqualad wanted to relinquish his post as leader, but realized that the only one qualified to take over is Robin, and he doesn't want to give that responsibility to someone so young. Wally was nonchalant about everything except when Canary mentioned his extreme reaction to Artemis' death. Canary urged Artemis to come forward about her own secrets, but she declined. Megan was afraid of the trouble she'd caused, and freaked out a bit when Canary mentioned she'd "turned white." I have a feeling Megan might actually be one of the white martians that she'd mentioned a few episodes ago. Robin was visibly upset, and didn't like that he had to send his friends to their dooms in order to do what needed to be done. He also confided he didn't really want to be like Batman anymore.

Most interesting was Superboy who said he didn't feel anything when everyone died.

Overall

A good episode. I liked the insight to the characters through the sessions, and it leaves a lot of things to think about. I still think all this talk about Aqualad vs Robin as the leader is foreshadowing something.

Monday, November 14, 2011

How I Met Your Mother 7.10 - Tick, Tick, Tick...



How I Met Your Mother 7.10 - Tick, Tick, Tick...

Brief Summary

First off, I promise I will catch up on the other shows' reviews soon!

In the wake of their tryst, Barney and Robin try to figure out how to fess up to Nora and Kevin. They also must decide what the night meant to them, and if they want to try to be together again. Meanwhile, Ted and Marshall spend the episode on an epic quest for nachos while at a concert with Lily. Unfortunately, the two are high as a kite and end up in line for the ladies' room more the once.

What I Liked

This episode was about as sad at they come, and had me on the edge of my seat waiting with bated breath to see what would happen. My only reprieve was yelling at Marshall and Ted as they'd wander back into the line for the ladies' room time and time again!

Barney. Barney was so sweet. He instantly says that the night meant something to him, tells Robin that he wants to be together with her, and does the mature thing and breaks up with Nora after telling her the truth.

Ted. His wandering around searching for nachos was ridiculous, but the brief moment at the end of the episode where he sees Barney ... I think that's setting up for some future story lines between the two, which I am all for. Barney and Ted's friendship is great.

The montage Barney sees of all the moments he and Robin have had over the years, with Nora's father narrating in the background. He sees Robin as his soul-mate, his best friend, the person he wants to spend his life with. All that is big stuff coming from the most commitment-phobic person on the planet.

And although it was heartbreakingly sad, the scene of Barney collecting up the petals and blowing out the candles in Robin's room.

What I Didn't Like

I don't understand Robin. Why in the world would she choose Kevin over Barney? The only reason I can think of is that she's scared. Scared because Barney and she tried and failed, and Kevin seems to be safe and reassuring. But she broke Barney's heart into a million pieces at the end, and in the moment after she shakes her head "no," Barney just stands there so utterly crushed.

Twists and Turns

Barney and Robin slept together after their cab kiss.

Barney breaks up with Nora.

Robin does not break up with Kevin, and shows up with him at the bar after she and Barney had agreed to meet there to discuss their future together.

Ted sees that Barney had decorated Robin's room, although he might not have been completely sober.

Observations

Robin completely crushed Barney, and it's hard to figure out why. She's been pining after him for ages. She couldn't even text him to let him know their plan was off before showing up at the bar with Kevin? She couldn't have come to the bar alone and talk to him? He put his heart out there, and the only thing she gave him was a half-shake of her head "no," and a veiled "I'm sorry." The only thing, and I mean the only thing that is even somewhat reasonable is that she really is just too scared. Barney was ready to start a relationship with her right then. And maybe that scared her, since they'd already tried and failed before. She'd spent so much time pining, and was even the one fishing for a reaction in the cab last week, maybe she hadn't actually thought out what would happen if he reciprocated her feelings.

Overall

This has got to be one of the saddest episodes of How I Met Your Mother. More crushing than anything else we've seen before between anyone's relationship. Going forward, I'd rather see Barney as the one who is pining/hurt, since it brings out his more vulnerable and softer side that we don't often see, but Robin was needlessly cruel in her rejection of him. Why did she even go after him if that was the way she was going to be about it? The ball is now completely in her court if this couple is ever going to get back together. Barney will likely put up all walls again, and she'll really have to work if she wants to win him back.

Monday, November 7, 2011

How I Met Your Mother 7.09 - Disaster Averted



How I Met Your Mother 7.09 - Disaster Averted

Brief Summary

As Barney tries to convince Marshall to let him out of the ducky tie bet, the gang reminisces about Hurricane Irene back in August 2011.

What I Liked

Oh my goodness, what didn't I like about this one? It was like the complete opposite of Noretta.

Marshall's paranoia about getting attacked by a bear due to his lack of health insurance was hilarious. Especially the bear in the bathroom ... after he squirted soap in his eye!

Barney pleading to get out of the ducky tie bet. I'll gladly take another slap to the slap bet over him wearing that ugly tie every episode. The opening sequence, his hilariously ridiculous story of how he "lost" the tie, was also great.

Barney suddenly changing his mind about wanting to leave after his dad called.

Marshall's version of what Lily said after he left the room.

The whole scene in the rain where the gang is playing in the puddles and watching Marshall boogie board.

Robin and Barney's cab ride. The scene in the rain that took place in August, where the two almost kissed before being interrupted by Robin's phone, was so sweet. Barney's awkward, "Any day I don't talk to you is ... just no good." was so cute. And then to follow it up with the two of them making fun of the fact that they could have kissed ... and then they actually do start kissing. Absolutely wonderful payoff!

What I Didn't Like

Ted wanting to leave Barney behind for some random chick! My goodness, you think he'd value his friendship more than that.

Barney's calling Robin up pretending to be her father was low, but he apologized for it later, so that's all good.

Twists and Turns

Barney is officially out of the ducky tie bet, but 3 extra slaps were added to the original slap bet. (Marshall used two of them right there, though, so there is 2 slaps left.)

Barney and Robin had almost kissed back before their original cab heart-to-heart about having loved each other in September. I wonder if that is what helped prompt the conversation in the first place?

Baby Erickson was conceived in Barney's bathroom.

Barney and Robin started making out in the cab at the end of the episode, even though both of them are in relationships with other people!

Observations

Whoa, so much happened in just like the last 6 minutes. Barney and Robin had already almost given in to their mutual attraction back in August, which means the September cab chat wasn't just out of the blue. Also, their kiss being interrupted by Robin's dad very much mirrors what happened with the two of them after their dance when Nora called.

So much could happen from here. They could leave it at a kiss, or they could sleep together, similarly to what happened at the end of Sandcastles in the Sand. Either way, I doubt they're going to get back together just yet. While I'm sure Nora and Kevin breakups are coming around the corner, I wonder if Robin will hold back on sharing her true feelings? If she says it was just a mistake, I can see Barney believing her. I can also see Barney accidentally saying something that causes Robin not to want to share her feelings.

Robin and Barney stuff aside, Barney's out of the ducky tie bet, and yet he's seen wearing it in the flashforward to Atlantic City with Marshall. Something obviously happens that forces him to wear the tie again. Also, we still haven't figured out why Ted will be donning a green dress toward the end of the season, as seen in the flashforward from The Mermaid Theory.

Overall

This was definitely tied as my favorite episodes this season ... if not the favorite episode. Probably one of my favorites overall. It was just so good! It had laughs, heart, and aside from the whole gang being simply so cute playing in the rain, the Robin and Barney moments were great. After the dance scene in the premiere, we've been waiting for something big to happen between the two, so it's nice to finally see some sparks. Although I'm very curious where this is all heading, especially in the short-term, I have a feeling these two will definitely end up together in the end.

The Big Bang Theory 5.08 - The Isolation Permutation


The Big Bang Theory 5.08 - The Isolation Permutation


Brief Summary

Amy is upset when Bernadette and Penny go dress shopping without her. When Sheldon tries to console her, though, he gets more than he bargained for.

What I Liked

Amy is my favorite character on the show, and I love her interactions with Sheldon. Her awkwardly wrapping her arms around him so the two could cuddle was hilarious. I also liked his negotiating for less intimacy. "French kissing?" "A neck massage?"

Raj's random comments about dresses and cap sleeves were great. "Who here knows what a sweetheart neckline is?!" And Raj slowly raises his hand, haha.

What I Didn't Like

Although I do like Amy, I feel that this one took her oddballness and put it over the top just a bit. I loved her crying and playing the harp, but the end tag with her being bossy and insulting while the girls were wedding dress shopping was a little odd. She's usually not so into putting the others down.

Twists and Turns

Nothing big.

Observations

Amy is clearly down with physical intimacy, and Sheldon doesn't seem to be on the same page at all. He was outraged he was forced to cuddle, and demanded Leonard and Howard "get their women in line" so he wouldn't have to do it again. I wonder if this storyline will go anywhere. We know Sheldon got possessive of Amy when Leonard went with her to that wedding, but he doesn't seem to want anything more out of their relationship. Although, I could totally see Leonard and Amy getting drunk and hooking up, especially now that Leonard is single.

Overall

Funny, but I felt like it went just a little bit over the top.

The Big Bang Theory 5.07 - The Good Guy Fluctuation


The Big Bang Theory 5.07 - The Good Guy Fluctuation


Brief Summary

Leonard meets a cute girl who's into comic books, and decides to hang out with her despite the fact that he already has a girlfriend. Meanwhile, after falling for a prank that Howard and Raj set up for him, Sheldon tries his hardest to scare the rest of the gang.

What I Liked

Raj and the snake. I love how he just cooes at it, picks it up, and takes it out of the room.

Howard and the heart condition. Sheldon was freaking out, and I myself was wondering where in the world they were heading when it was revealed to just be a prank.

Leonard finally broke up with Priya! Obviously that wasn't going to last.

Loved the final scare, with Sheldon hiding in the couch. I shouldn't mention that one to my friends, as they're always coming into my apartment before I get home and trying to scare me.

What I Didn't Like

There wasn't anything that bad about this episode.

Twists and Turns

Leonard and Priya are over.

Observations

They still haven't really gone back to the whole Penny/Raj thing from the premeire. Penny never told what really happened, so presumably everyone still thinks they did it. I wonder if this will cause Leonard to not want to go after her again? We already know Penny still likes Leonard.

Overall

A funny episode, although not the best.

Castle 4.07 - Cops and Robbers


Castle 4.07 - Cops and Robbers


Brief Summary

Castle and his mom are among the hostages when a ground of scrub-wearing crooks hold up a bank. Beckett unwillingly becomes the hostage negotiator, and Castle tries to figure out what the crooks want from the inside.

What I Liked

I thought the episode was really exciting, a bit a deviation from the norm for the show. Some parts of it were a little far-fetched, but I liked that we could see very clearly the Beckett was really worried about her partner.

What I Didn't Like

The morse-code bit seemed a little far-fetched to me, but maybe detectives pay more attention to little things like that than I would. I would say I didn't like that the real culprit turned out to be one of the hostages, but that actually was a twist I didn't see coming.

Twists and Turns

The mastermind turned out to be the epileptic hostage who was taken out before the bomb went off.

Alexis broke up with her boyfriend.

Observations

I wonder how long Beckett and Castle can keep up this facade of not admitting their feelings. Castle was willing to do it before, when Beckett was shot, so I wonder if he'll ever get the courage to try to tell her again? And Beckett already really knows that.

I was sad Alexis broke up with Ashley, but anyone could see that coming from a mile away. He seemed like such a nice guy when he was around, but I will admit that long-distance does not work well, so it's not surprising.

Overall

A good episode, hopefully bringing our main characters a little closer to admitting their feelings for each other.

Young Justice 1.16 - Failsafe



Young Justice 1.16 - Failsafe



Brief Summary

Aliens are invading Earth, and the Justice League are falling one by one. When no one is left but the Young Justice team, they set out to stop the invasion themselves, and rescue the Justice League, who they hope have only been teleported into the mothership and not vaporized.

What I Liked

While I'm a fan of episodes that build up a little bit more, it was kind of cool to see the team in a high-stakes mission. The team worked well together, and I particularly liked when Robin sort of took over command after Aqualad "died." I still can't help but think that's a bit of foreshadowing.

What I Didn't Like

Again, I don't really like when episodes just jump right in. We had no background on what was going on, and it all seemed sort of like an episode that should be taking place like mid-second or third season or something, not randomly in the first season.

And I absolutely hate the "it was all a dream" sort of endings. So essentially, all the episode did was tell us that Miss Martian has lots of power?

Twists and Turns

The big one, of course, being that the whole episode was just a training exercise.

Miss Martian is very powerful, and also very emotional.

Observations

I really enjoyed all the little cameos by characters we don't see much, like Red Arrow, Garth and Tula, Wonder Woman, and even Barbara Gordon. I was a bit bummed out that Red Arrow and Garth didn't get to help out, though. I was also going to be particularly disappointed that Barbara didn't appear to be Batgirl-suiting-up to help, but seeing as how it was just an illusion, and Martian Manhunter has no way of knowing if Barbara leads a double life, I guess that doesn't mean anything concrete.

Also noticed the little cameo by Iris, and loved her awkward, "Thanks...Flash" when he saved her.

Noted was Wally's reaction to Artemis' "death," and he determination to get revenge or rescue her. Obviously they're playing toward something happening between those two eventually. Miss M also used the L-word with Superboy, though, it was just a dream, so I don't know if that'll have any lasting consequences.

I think part of the problem in episodes like these is that it's trying to do a little too much at once now. I know a few episodes ago I was complaining that not everyone was in every episode, but episodes like Revalation and Failsafe have just a smidge too much going on. I'm sure there's a happy medium somewhere, and it's not to say that the episodes are bad. All of Young Justice has been good so far, just sometimes I wish it would slow down a little bit.

Overall

Not my favorite by a longshot, but there were some good moments.

Friday, November 4, 2011

The Vampire Diaries 3.08 - Ordinary People



The Vampire Diaries 3.08 - Ordinary People

Brief Summary

Alaric tries to decipher the ancient writing they found on the cave on the Lockwood property, while Elena tries to get Rebekah to talk about her family's past. Meanwhile, Damon lets Stefan loose for a night on the town, but they run into vampire hunter Mikael unexpectedly.

What I Liked

I didn't care for this episode overall, but that scene at the end between Elena and Damon was too cute! Starting with her trying to tug her bedspread out from under him, and then giving up and just climbing into bed anyway. She turns off the light, doesn't even bother shooing him away, and just says she'll tell him the rest of the story tomorrow. Awww....

I also enjoyed their banter in the beginning as she's trying to practice attacking him. I'm not one of those people who's hard up on Damon and Elena getting together, but their friendship is so cute, and it's had so many moments this season.

What I Didn't Like

The flashback. It didn't make a whole lot of sense to me, and I was under the impression that Elijah had a huge family, not just a brother and sister. (And one brother who died.) If that were the case, and he already knew of Klaus' whereabouts, the only "family members" he could have been searching for were his father and Rebekah.

Elijah was also barely in the flashback, and had somewhat ridiculous hair.

Twists and Turns

Klaus, Elijah, and Rebekah's mother was the original witch. (And the only which we've seen who isn't African American. I've always wondered about that on the show.) Their father is Mikael, the vampire hunter.

Observations

Stefan still doesn't interest me much. He's always been the weaker of the brothers, and while Damon was originally presented as very self-interested, morally flexible, and willing to give in to his desires for blood, he has infinitely more control than Stefan. I'm glad he didn't let anyone get killed at the bar. And under this compulsion, are we to believe that Stefan really is just looking out for his own interests in saving Damon, or is he breaking through? I don't believe he'd be breaking through, honestly, and I'm kind of tired of his struggle.

At least Elena seems to be "giving up" somewhat, which I definitely think she needs to do.

No Matt, Jeremy, Tyler, Caroline, and minimal Bonnie.

Overall

Not a great episode, in my opinion, but I loved the rapport between Damon and Elena, and the scenes with Damon and Stefan were also worthwhile.

Tuesday, November 1, 2011

How I Met Your Mother 7.08 - The Slutty Pumpkin Returns



How I Met Your Mother 7.08 - The Slutty Pumpkin Returns



Brief Summary

Ted finally tracks down the girl in the slutty pumpkin costume from the rooftop Halloween party ten years earlier. Only problem is, they make a terrible couple. Meanwhile, Lily deals with forgetfulness due to her pregnancy as she and Marshall debate whether or not to move to the suburbs into a house that her grandparents have left her. Robin disocovers that Barney's grandmother on his dad's side was from Canada, making Barney 1/4 Canadian. She teases him incesantly as payback for all the years of Canada jokes.

What I Liked

Barney and Robin's storyline was very funny, and it only makes sense that Robin would pick on Barney about his previously unknown Canadian heritage. Her excitedly waiting at the Halloween party for him to show up in the mountie costume was great, as was his rebelling against all things Canada.

Lily's pregnancy-brain story was hilarious. Crying over ice cubes, putting her wallet and keys in the freezer, getting lost on the way back from the bathroom, and handing out a stapler, scissors, and a bottle of wine instead of candy to the trick or treaters were just some of her antics. "I'm really gonna miss that stapler!"

The cutaway of Lily walking into their smokey apartment with the smoke alarm going off, Marshall passed out on the floor with a grill next to him. Also, his excitement over the free stuff Lily's grandparents would give them that they had no use for.

What I Didn't Like

I wasn't really feeling Ted and Naomi/the slutty pumpkin's storyline. They were terribly awkward together, which was the point, but it just wasn't as funny to me as I thought it was going to be. At least the awkwardness wasn't just coming from Ted's point of view. She also thought he was awkward!

I feel like the entire episode was a bit rushed. There were probably too many plots trying to be covered, between Lily's pregnancy brain, Marshall and Lily deciding whether or not to live in the suburbs, Barney and Robin's Canadian stuff, and Ted and Naomi's awkwardness. It didn't flow as well as I thought it should, and I was a little disappointed by the fact that there wasn't any real character development from anyone. The tag, while goofy, was also a slight letdown. I would have prefered Robin have decorated Barney's apartment with a bunch of Canadian stuff or something of the like.

Twists and Turns

For all his hating Canada, Barney is 1/4 Canadian!

The slutty pumpkin turned out to be the totally wrong girl for Ted.

Lily and Marshall now have a house in the suburbs. Whether or not they'll end up living in it is anyone's guess.

Observations

Barney is still sporting the ducky tie, even in his American boxer costume. (He had it tied to his arm.)

Robin's clothes this season have been, for lack of better words, just awful. She doesn't look cute or even particularly feminine in hardly anything she wears. It's been a lot of bad colors, and baggy shirts. I know the actress is a bit thinner than she used to be, and I'm not a huge fan of her current hairstyle, but she could look way cuter than they're presenting her, unless it's a conscious decision for some reason? Robin does tend to dress badly when she's depressed, and it could be due to the Barney-pining. (Although, you'd think she'd try to dress up provacatively or something, to attract some attention.)

No Kevin or Nora this episode. Kevin may as well not exist as he wasn't even mentioned, and Barney only grumbled that he already had a girlfriend when Marshall mentioned "helpless drunk chicks" at the bar.

I like how they're wrapping up Ted's old loose ends. First Victoria, and now the slutty pumpkin. I see they're slowly getting rid of all the girls that "got away" as we're coming up on the wedding where Ted will meet the mother. It's a nice touch.

Also a nice touch, and really noticable if you watch the original Slutty Pumpkin episode, is that future Ted said that Aunt Robin really likes dressing up for Halloween, but that she didn't always. In 2005, Ted told Robin that one day she'd meet someone that she'd want to dress up for. This is the first Halloween that we've seen Robin actually wear a costume for the occassion, and she's dressing up for Barney. Sure, it's a joke at his expense, but I think it's significant. They don't drive the point home or anything specific, but it's a subtle clue to those of us paying attention.

Overall

What we had was good, but the episode felt very short and a little all over the place. I think there were some subtle hints at things to come, which I'm sure will be fun to look back on as we progress through the season.

Friday, October 28, 2011

The Vampire Diaries 3.07 - Ghost World



The Vampire Diaries 3.07 - Ghost World



Brief Summary

Bonnie and Vickie's messing with witch magic from the other side has had unforseen consequences: now all the ghosts who have a reason to come back are back in the real world, and tangible. Mason exacts revenge on Damon by torturing him, but then lets him free and the two team up to find some secret to killing Klaus that is buried on the Lockwood property. Lexie captures Stefan and tries to starve him back to humanity. And Anna and Jeremy bond more. But when the tomb vampires return to exact revenge on the founding families, Bonnie has to come up with a way to send all the ghosts away, and fast.

What I Liked

Mason. Although he messed Damon up initially to get even, he moved past the whole "You killed me" thing pretty quickly, and the two teamed up. It was fun to watch, and led nicely into Alaric reluctantly letting go of the grudge he's been holding against Damon for weeks.

Anna and Jeremy. They really had a connection back in the 1st season, so it was nice to see it get resolved a little bit. Although you know they could never be together, it was nice that Anna found her mom at the end and they could presumably move on together.

What I Didn't Like

I don't care much for Stefan or Elena, so Stefan's whole detox plot was rather boring for me. Also, it's just a tad rehashed. I don't care if Stefan breaks through right now, because I frankly don't think it's possible. He's compelled. So that's a bit of a snoozefest for me!

Twists and Turns

All the ghosts that came back, including Bonnie's grams.

Bonnie and Jeremy essentially broke up. (Good!)

Observations

Rebekah and Tyler were notably absent this episode.

Matt's just about fed up with the supernatural, but then again, they have him in scenes with Bonnie. I wouldn't be opposed to the two of them comiserating together over the whole ghost thing.

We know Caroline's dad could resist compulsion, but I doubt that you can resist compulsion once you're already compelled. I suppose they can have Stefan break through at some point, though.

Is it bad that I'd actually like to see Elena give up? Her "I won't give up on you!" speech every episode is a little tiresome. Give it a rest for just a bit, eh?

Overall

Good episode. Interesting, fast-paced, aside from the Stefan/Lexie/Elena storyline. Looking forward to next week, of course.

Wednesday, October 26, 2011

Castle 4.06


Castle 4.06


Brief Summary


A ghost hunter is killed while filming in an old house for his show. Castle suspects that a demon might be at work, but Beckett is skeptical. Meanwhile, Ryan and his fiancee have dinner with Espisito and Lanie, but it doesn't go as planned.

What I Liked

Any insight to the characters' personal lives is nice, so I liked the dinner storyline for the most part.

Castle's goofy demon theories were fun, and even led up to Beckett telling a spooky supernatural experience of hers ... that turned out to be fake, haha.

What I Didn't Like

The dinner storyline didn't exactly wrap up. We don't know what Espisito and Lanie talked about other than the fact that they broke up. Who didn't want to get married? Usually on these shows it's the woman who doesn't want to settle down, especially given that Lanie is pretty devoted to her job. I assume this plot will carry over to future episodes.

I'm glad Alexis didn't go away to college, but I don't like her growing apart from Ashley. He seemed like a really nice guy, so hopefully they work things out.

Twists and Turns

The person everyone thought was the murderer in the cause from '91 was actually dead the whole time, and upstairs in the attic.

Lanie and Espisito broke up.

Observations

Beckett's mom's case hasn't come up in a while. I bet we're due for another dramatic episode soon.

The chief wasn't in this episode. I keeping wanting to like her, but she's frustrating.

Overall

Enjoyable episode. I forgot to reveiw 4.05, but since I don't watch Castle with as much ferver as I do my other shows, they all sort of blend together after I watch a few. I think I'll skip reviewing it for now! It had to do with someone being murdered in an art gallery.

Monday, October 24, 2011

How I Met Your Mother 7.07 - Noretta



How I Met Your Mother 7.07 - Noretta


Brief Summary

Kevin brings up a theory that many people find partners that are similar to one of their parents. This causes Lily and Marshall to imagine each other as their respective fathers. Barney and Nora try to have a romantic evening (leading up to a special event), but mysterious accidents keep ruining the mood. Ted feels left out, and Kevin is annoyed that Robin is too close to her roommate.

What I Liked

It's probably better to start with what I didn't like, honestly, but I'll give this a go:

James saying that he didn't like Barney with Nora, and Robin's hurried agreement listing reasons why not to like her.

Kevin talking about Ted's nuts, and his flip-out when Robin was giving Ted a back massage.

Ted's montage of calling everyone asking to see if they'd go to the concert with him. They included Claudia, Stewart, Trudy, Brad, Natalie, and Ranjit!

What I Didn't Like

Good gosh, Season 7 is turning out to be quite a mixed bag. A really funny episode followed by possibly one of my least favorite episodes ever!

The "seeing your partner as your parent" plot was creepy, no way around it. Although there were some awkward laughs to be had, Marshall and Lily's whole sequence with their fathers was just cringe-worthy.

Nora singing randomly. Awkward...

Barney and Nora had sex, regardless of all the mishaps and the fact that he was starting to see her as his mother. While I don't believe he's in love with her for a minute, his crass comment at the bar about turning her around during sex was just out of place and rude, though. And did that scene take place during the same night? Somehow I don't think he'd run out on Nora (at his own place!) just after sex! He did follow it up with a nice comment, but still. Barney was seriously just desperate to get laid, which makes sense, but I can't help but feel a little bad for Nora, even if it were her idea to have sex in the end.

What was up with Robin being so touchy feely with Ted?? She gives him a back rub right in front of her boyfriend trying to butter him up to take her to the concert, when it turns out she doesn't even like Weird Al?! I'm sorry, but where the hell did that come from?

Twists and Turns

Barney and Nora finally got it on.

Kevin apparently knows that Robin used to date Ted.

Observations

I'm perplexed about Barney's behavior. Clearly, going 2 months without sex is big for him, and it's understandable that he would want an evening where Nora clearly stated her intention was to end it with sex, to go well. But his comments at the bar at the end were pretty off-putting. No, I don't believe he's in love with her, rather that he's forcing himself to pretend this is what being in a relationship should be like, but I still think he should have had a little more tact. But then again, it's Barney. He's trying, but ultimately he's clueless.

Then there's always the theory that he lied to his friends about having had sex with Nora. Maybe he really couldn't do it! But given the way things have been going lately, I'm fairly certain what we saw was what we get.

What the heck is going on with Robin? Is she trying to make Kevin jealous or something? It's implied they're already sleeping together, since Kevin's around in the mornings, but she still doesn't seem very into him. And Kevin's all worked up about Ted now, when it's really Barney that Robin's harboring feelings for.

Overall

Man, I really have to say I disliked this one with a passion. Down there with my least favorites. I'm going to re-watch just to see if maybe I'm being overly critical, but this was really bad.

The Big Bang Theory 5.06


The Big Bang Theory 5.06


Brief Summary

Sheldon's mom comes to visit, but he's disappointed when she would rather hang out with his friends and sight-see than cater to Sheldon's whims.

What I Liked

The scene in the church was funny, as was Mrs. Cooper's continual use of politically incorrect and (let's be honest) somewhat ignorant terms. The comment about "our Indians having the drinking problem" had me guessing for a moment before I got it. Leonard's offering to make her a list of the offensive terms was great.

What I Didn't Like


I'm actually having trouble remembering what all there was to the episode. I don't recall there really being a B-story, other than Sheldon being a poor sport about his mom not wanting to cook and hang out at boring lectures with him.

Twists and Turns

Not much

Observations

Again, nothing much to observe. I think Bernadette was missing entirely, and Amy was only around for a scene or two.

Overall

Not the best, but Sheldon's mom was certainly funny.

Young Justice 1.15 - Humanity


Young Justice 1.15 - Humanity


Brief Summary

The team is determined to track down Red Tornado to find out once and for all if he really was the mole. While under the guise that they're showing Zatanna, Zatarra's daughter, around the compound, the group sneak off to investigate. Meanwhile, the creator of the Reds has collected both Red Tornado and his two siblings' memories and implanted them into a perfect robot, with the intention of setting of a volcano to destroy humanity.

What I Liked

It was refreshing that Red Tornado turned out not to be bad, and even his two siblings were also not as bad as we were led to believe. I was a little confused on the backstory, though ... were they originally made to look like humans?

I like the continuity in that Wally's arm is still messed up from the previous adventure.


Zatanna was a fun addition to the team for an episode, but I'm not sure if she'd be good as a permanent addition. Her father seemed pretty angry at the end, so I doubt she'll be joining up anytime soon, anyway.

What I Didn't Like

Not sure why Robin was all over Zatanna, considering he's usually more of an observer of Wally's goofball attempts to woo the ladies rather than a participant. At one point he even makes the comment, "Was that too Wally?" Although Zatanna was completely different from Artemis and Miss Martian, so maybe she's just more his type. Her willingness to participate in his word play was cute, and I wouldn't be opposed to Robin having a love-interest on the show. (They somewhat spoiled me by revealing the fact that Barbara exists in the YJ world, though, as I've always been a big Batgirl/Robin fan.)

Twists and Turns

Red Tornado was not the mole.

Observations

First off, just a slight disclaimer as I'm not 100% sure that this has been revealed or not officially. I can't remember if I gleened this information from briefly researching Artemis online or by the hints dropped in the show/comic, but I think it's obvious that Sportsmaster is Artemis' father. This really had nothing to do with this episode, but I'd like to be able to reference that in speculation going forward!

If Red Tornado was not the mole, then who was? We're still left wondering. I doubt it is any of the team itself (unless Artemis is somehow being blackmailed due to her ties to Cheshire and Sportsmaster), and I can't understand why any league members would be leaking information. (And it's certainly not Red Arrow, who was uncovering the mole stuff in the first place.) I wonder if there's still a telepathic link to Superboy that he's unaware of...

Overall


A good episode, but not my favorite. I haven't loved any episode in particular since Homefront. There will be a hiatus this coming week while they play the "Batman vs Dracula" movie for Halloween weekend, so we'll pick back up again in two weeks!

Friday, October 21, 2011

The Vampire Diaries 3.06 - Smells Like Teen Spirit


The Vampire Diaries 3.06 - Smells Like Teen Spirit


Brief Summary

It's the first day of senior year, and things are not going well. Stefan is leaving bodies all around the Salvatore manor, much to Damon's irritation, and Rebekah also invites herself to stay because Klaus has left her behind. Things get even more tricky when both vampires shows up at school. Meanwhile, Matt is still seeing Vickie, who tells him he can help her come back into their world, and Tyler is enjoying being a vampire/werewolf hybrid just a little too much.

What I Liked

While there wasn't much Damon in this episode, his few scenes were pretty good. His looking disgusted at the state of the manor, and his cleaning up Elena's wounds at the end were fun and sweet respectively. And his "flirting" with the marshmallow at the bonfire was pretty funny.

I loved the scene at the end with Anna and Jeremy finally able to touch each other. I know she's dead, and it's probably only because of Matt's spell to materialize Vickie that it's possible, but I think those two are so much better together than Bonnie and Jeremy.

What I Didn't Like

There's a difference between not liking something period and being shocked by something, so I'll say it was a pretty solid episode overall. I only wish Damon had been around a little more.

Twists and Turns

There were a bunch.

Damon turns around at the end of the episode only to come face-to-face with a pissed off Mason Lockwood! You know, the werewolf he tortured and killed??

It seems all ghosts can now materialize in the world.

Mikael the vampire hunter has a taste for vampire blood, in this case, Katherine's! I hope she's not dead.

Rebekah is leading Tyler down a dark path, tempting him with a girl at the end of the episode, whom he happily chomps down on.

Elena stabbing Stefan at the end of the episode, while not particularly meaningful or twisty, was awesome.

Observations

Again, Bonnie is teamed up with Matt. Coincidence, or are we heading to a new love triangle?

Loved the callback to the first episode, with Elena running into Stefan outside the bathroom at school.

Stefan is totally unhinged, and it's crazy.

Overall

Good episode! Definitely planting seeds for the future, though, I'm very interested to see how this ghost plot goes. Apparently anyone can see ghosts? (Otherwise, why would Damon be able to see Mason?) Who else from the past might we see again? And can the ghosts stay in the real world, or will they all have to return to the other side eventually? I'm guessing the latter, but I'm pumped to see what happens next.

Unrelated, but my DVR was mean and didn't tape the Big Bang Theory, so I might have to wait on that review until I can catch it online or on demand.

Monday, October 17, 2011

How I Met Your Mother 7.06 - Mystery vs. History



How I Met Your Mother 7.06 - Mystery vs. History

Brief Summary

Ted goes on a date with a girl with the condition that they cannot do Internet searches on each other before the date. Barney and Robin can't resist looking her up as the rest of the gang, plus Robin's new boyfriend Kevin, help paint the baby's room over at Marshall and Lily's. Marshall and Lily also have to decide whether or not they want to find out the gender of their baby.

What I Liked

I'll start by saying that after the premiere, this was probably my favorite episode this season. The gang was in great form, and their interactions were hilarious.

Barney/Robin being the research duo.

Kevin pointing out all the gang's various flaws/issues. (Co-dependency, separation anxiety, pathological lying, etc.) I especially loved the montage of the various slaps/hits when Kevin mentions he only didn't notice violence.

Marshall and Lily finding out the gender of their baby. We always knew they were going to have a boy at some point, so it's nice to confirm.

What I Didn't Like

Nit-picky, but I wish they'd change Robin's hair like they do Lily's when they do flashbacks. Lily always has era-appropriate hair, but Robin has the shorter, kinkier hair in ever scene.

Why is Kevin dating Robin again? If he can see through all the rest of the gang's issues, he can certainly see that Robin was hanging all over Barney, a man she explicitly confided in him that she was in love with, all evening. Don't get me wrong, I thought his character was hilarious. But I just don't understand why he's dating Robin.

Twists and Turns

Marshall and Lily are having a boy.

Observations

Robin and Barney were on such the same wavelength in this episode with all their researching habits, the same reactions to everything, etc, that if it wasn't specifically stated that Robin was dating Kevin, you'd think Robin and Barney were together. Foreshadowing?

Barney never brings up Nora when she's not around. And was he looking up porn on the Internet...?

Does Kevin even realize that Barney is the same Barney that Robin said she was in love with just two episodes ago? And I'm sure he doesn't realize that she and Ted used to date, too. I'm sure he's going to have a field day analyzing that one when he figures it out!

Overall

Awesome episode. Had me laughing the whole time, and had some great group moments. My favorite since the premiere!

Sunday, October 16, 2011

Young Justice 1.14 - Revelation




Young Justice 1.14 - Revelation


Brief Summary

Plant creatures are attacking all over the world. The Justice League tackle the creatures head on while the Young Justice team goes undercover to the center of operations for the Injustice League, in hopes of shutting down the plants at their source. The Injustice League is hardcore, however, and the team may be in over their head.

What I Liked

This was a really action-packed episode, and everyone got a moment to shine. We saw just about ever League member fighting at one point or another. Although it was just a brief scene, I liked seeing Red Arrow, Green Arrow, and Black Canary all fighting together. Nice to see Red Arrow is helping out, and maybe patching things up with his mentor.

Although I wish it had been a longer scene, Robin vs. Joker was a cool concept.

Miss Martian really stepped up her game this week! She was quite the fighter.

I'm also glad they revisited the Dr. Fate helmet. I was certain Artemis was going to use it back in "Homefront," when she ended up in the souvenir room, so I'm glad someone finally realized it was their ace in the hole.

Artemis' comment, "I feel naked, and not in the fun way." was hilarious!

What I Didn't Like

Well, there was quite a bit going on, so we didn't really focus too much on any one particular person for very long.

I'm not sure how I feel about Superboy's wolf. It's cute, and helpful, and it reminds me of him having Krypto around like in the comics, but I don't know...

The Joker's voice was really bad. It didn't bother me much at first, but by the end I was really wishing they could have gotten John DiMaggio, who voiced the Joker in the "Batman: Under the Red Hood" movie, instead.

Twists and Turns

Aqualad used the Dr. Fate helmet, but was fortunately released when they were finished with the fight.

The Injustice League were just a cover for the real masterminds, which include Ra's al Ghul and Lex Luthor, among many other villains that we've seen over the season.

Observations

More hints at something happening between Artemis and Kid Flash. They walk in together after Robin and Aqualad are discussing how Miss Martian and Superboy are a couple, Wally was particularly protective of her during the fight, and she takes a minute to tie up his injured arm during the fight. I actually think they'd be more interesting to watch together than Megan and Conner, no offense to them!

None of the Red Tornados seemed to be involved in this, the Injustice League, nor were they seen among the masterminds. So I wonder what their agenda was?

Overall

A good episode that showed a lot of different characters. Part of it felt a bit rushed, but I think that was just because of the amount of people and stories it was trying to cover. Honestly, I think this would have made a better 2-part episode, but it was still good.

Friday, October 14, 2011

The Big Bang Theory 5.05 - The Russian Rocket Reaction


The Big Bang Theory 5.05 - The Russian Rocket Reaction


Brief Summary

Sheldon and Leonard are invited to a party at Wil Wheaton's, which Leonard plans on attending. Sheldon plans on essentially de-friending Leonard if he does attend. Meanwhile, Howard tells everyone about an opportunity for him to go up in space on a Russian rocket, and Bernadette does not take the news well.

What I Liked

As usual, Penny, Amy, and Bernadette were great. I loved their conversation in Penny's apartment.

Sheldon finally getting his signed figure from Wil Wheaton was cute, but then immediately ruined by Data (can't remember the actor's name!), who has now become the new "mortal enemy."

Sheldon pulling out a floppy disc drive to access his list was hilarious.

What I Didn't Like

Howard and Bernadette are cute together, but I'm generally not as into stories involving the two of them. I love Bernadette, but I feel like their storylines just get a little slow and repetitive. Also, I'd love to see them actually address some future plans. I notice they're still just living at his mother's place!

Twists and Turns

Howard's mom puts the kabosh on his going up into space.

Wil Wheaton is actually a nice guy.

Observations

No mention of Priya tonight. I wonder when Leonard is going to break up with her?

Overall

Solid episode.

Vampire Diaries 3.05 - The Reckoning


Vampire Diaries 3.05 - The Reckoning


Brief Summary

The gang is at the school for their high school senior prank night, but it goes terribly awry when Klaus, Stefan, and Rebecca show up. Klaus takes Elena hostage, feeds Tyler some of his blood and then kills him, and orders Bonnie to figure out a way to save him from dying a horrible death like all the other hybrids have. Meanwhile, Katherine and Damon are road-tripping to who-knows-where, and Katherine has brought Jeremy along for the ride. And last but not least, Matt is trying to find a way to speak to Vickie.

What I Liked

This episode was crazy with all the revelations and drama. There were definite good moments. I loved Damon's scene with Elena, where he gets her from the hospital, and the subsequent scene where he essentially promises to protect her.

I don't like Bonnie, but I enjoyed her scenes with Matt tonight. They are the two more normal members of the team, and I liked them talking about life before all the crazy started happening. I don't know if they're laying any groundwork for a romance between them, but I would be down with that.

Caroline and Tyler's scene at the end was cute, although I have a bad feeling that Tyler's "feeling good" isn't going to last very long.

What I Didn't Like

I can't say I really didn't like anything about this episode. It was solid, intense, and had me on the edge of my seat wanting to know what would happen.

Twists and Turns

A whole bunch! For starters, Tyler has become the second successful hyrbid.

Elena's (the doppleganger's) blood is the key to turning werewolves into hyrbids. The Catch-22 was that the doppleganger was supposed to die in the ritual, meaning Klaus should have never been able to create more like himself.

Matt can now see Vickie.

Klaus compells Stefan so much so that he seems to have completely shut off his emotions.

Stefan strolls back to the mansion and insists he's going to be staying there "protecting" Elena, since her blood is important to Klaus.

Katherine and Jeremy find the tomb of the vampire/vampire hunter Michael.

Observations

I wonder if there are going to be any bad side-effects to Tyler becoming a hybrid. If I recall correctly, hybrids are not weak to sunlight, and can transform into a werewolf at will. Those all seem like very positive things. However, Tyler isn't used to the hunger for blood, so that might cause him to go out of control.

Stefan staying at the mansion is going to be interesting, since he's almost a completely different person. We know deep down Stefan is still a good guy, but right now I'm assuming that side of him is completely unreachable. Having him around will force Damon to be more on the ball about protecting everyone, though.

Where did Klaus and Rebecca go, and what are the going to do with Elena's blood? They can feasibly turn more werewolves into hybrids. I also assume that Klaus is going to want Tyler on his side.

Overall

Really intense episode, but very good! I'm excited to see where they're going with all this. I'm not sure how I feel about Tyler becoming a hybird, honestly. I liked the werewolf/vampire romance, and now that he's essentially a vampire, too, it loses something for me. Also, this means Tyler is no longer "normal," in that he won't age, and is immortal. Werewolves were definitely more "human" than vampires are in that regard. I'm just glad Matt didn't become a vampire.

Thursday, October 13, 2011

Castle 4.04


Castle 4.04


Brief Summary


Ryan's missing gun turns up as the murder weapon in a killing of a young girl. Distraught about letting the gun get stolen, he works with Beckett to get to the bottom of the mystery, which they hope will lead them to the person who originally stole his weapon.


What I Liked


Although I never saw the original episode where Ryan's gun was stolen, it was nice to get to see Ryan in more of the spotlight. He and Espisito are often the guys who do the boring work, and only return to tell Castle and Beckett what they've discovered.

I'm also glad Alexis is doing something about getting herself into college, and not moping anymore.

What I Didn't Like

Nothing wrong with this episode, it was fine. Castle was in much more of a supporting role than usual, but it wasn't a bad change-up.

Twists and Turns

Typical murder mystery turns in the case. Castle tells Beckett they should not make a deal with the killer in order to get information on the one who originally stole Ryan's gun, knowing the information would be false.

Observations

This episode was a little more serious, but still good. I liked it.

Overall

A good episode. Nice to see some more of Ryan.

Monday, October 10, 2011

How I Met Your Mother 7.05 - Field Trip



How I Met Your Mother 7.05 - Field Trip


Brief Summary

Ted decides to take his students on a field trip to the GNB site, but things don't quite go as planned. Robin's therapist, Kevin, tells her he can't see her anymore because he's attracted to her, and the two end up starting to date despite the weirdness of it all. Barney takes a comment Nora makes about Ewoks to indicate that she's 37, and freaks out because she told him she was 29. And Marshall's boss is so jaded to saving the Earth that he accepts a ridiculously low offer from a company that was doing chemical dumping.

What I Liked

Ted and Barney with Ted's students, trying to do a field trip, was great. Using them as a focus group to answer all debates, showing them ridiculous presentations about Ewoks, and taking them everywhere from GNB to Ted's apartment. The interaction between Barney and Ted was great.

What I Didn't Like

It goes without saying that Barney/Nora is still way too shallow, without any emotional depth, and just downright perfunctory. I seriously hope this will be addressed in coming episodes, because these two seriously have no reason to be dating.

The Robin and Kevin storyline, while admittedly trying to be cute, comes across as haphazard. There is no way Robin is suddenly over her feelings for Barney in a week. She must be using this as a distraction, or forcing herself into a relationship in order to somehow move on.

Lily had essentially no story, other than being pregnant, and the gang was barely in the same location for a scene. The best HIMYM episodes play off the gang as a whole. The various stories today were so scattered that they honestly could have been in separate episodes.

Twists and Turns

Robin is now dating her therapist.

Marshall's boss is super creepy.

Nora is not 37, she just didn't see the Star Wars movies until she was an adult.

Observations

Is Barney looking for a reason to break up with Nora? Seriously, though, their relationship is silly and needs to end sooner rather than later. They're not even addressing any real aspects of their relationship. What do they even do together, other than occasionally see each other at the bar and kiss?

Ted's growing a bit of a beard, and it looks okay!

The guest starts are nice, but they really take away from the gang's main interactions with each other. Between Nora, Kevin, and Marshall's boss, our main guys barely said two words to each other. I want interactions between our people, not the guests.

I almost forgot to mention Barney was still wearing the ducky tie throughout the episode. In the flashback to "a few weeks earlier," though, he was not. I guess that means not much time has passed overall this season.

Overall

While this one was better than some of the others this season, I think the poorly-written relationships for Barney and Robin respectively, along with the multitude of guest stars, are really bringing the episodes down. The best ones this season have been the first and third, where it was just the gang being the gang. Hopefully the guest stars will run their course, and we can get back to what makes the show so great.

Young Justice 1.13 - Alpha Male


Young Justice 1.13 - Alpha Male


Brief Summary

Everyone's upset with Aqualad for neglecting to mention that there might be a mole in their midst. Captain Marvel takes over as "den mother" for the group, and the team heads to India to deal with a crazed gorilla who has injected animals with the Kobra venom. However, the team is divided: everyone feels betrayed by Aqualad, and refuse to take orders from him. When Captain Marvel is captured, Aqualad has to pull the team back together in order to save him.

What I Liked

It was nice to have an episode that featured the whole team for a change. Although the focus was on Aqualad, everyone had a pretty good role.

What I Didn't Like

I didn't care for the villains, or Captain Marvel, but since they were just the side characters and not the main focus, it didn't really matter.

Twists and Turns

I already knew the bit about Captain Marvel really being a kid, but I guess that was a bit of a twist at the end.

Obviously they weren't going to remove Aqualad from leading the team!

Observations

I like the continuity between episodes. They were using the Kobra venom from the 4th episode, and the collars from the jail episode.

Historically, Robin has always been the leader of the teams he's been on. Aqualad is clearly defined as the leader for now, and that only makes sense seeing as how Robin is by far the youngest, though even when they made that decision, Aqualad said that Robin would take over some day. To me, that seems to set up that something will happen to Aqualad at some point. While I doubt they'd kill off essentially the only ethnic character on the team (though I suppose Miss Martian also counts) and not to mention this Aqualad character is a newer creation rather than the old incarnation, it makes me wonder. (Unless they just threw in that line to assure us that Robin would lead the team eventually.)

Overall

It was a good episode, but not my favorite. I hope they bring Red Arrow back into the mix soon. It would be nice if he joined up the team permanently, or at least helped out regularly, though he seems like a bit of a loner for now.

Friday, October 7, 2011

The Big Bang Theory 5.04 - The Wiggly Finger Catalyst


The Big Bang Theory 5.04 - The Wiggly Finger Catalyst


Brief Summary

Penny sets Raj up on a date with her deaf friend, and Howard acts as the sign-language interpreter during their dates. But when it comes to light that Raj's family is actually extremely wealthy, it seems like his new girlfriend is just in it for the perks. Meanwhile, Sheldon starts using D&D dice to make "trivial decisions."

What I Liked

Surprisingly, I actually liked Howard this week. He was great keeping Raj's ridiculous conversation ideas to a more reasonable level. I loved his simplifying everything. Something like "Your eyes are like shining opals" becomes "He likes your eyes!"

Sheldon's ordering at the restaurant was great, though I wish we could have seen him actually drinking the "pitcher of margaritas," as he never drinks.

What I Didn't Like

Raj. He's not very likable, still, and you don't really feel all that bad for him. I did like when he goes and talks to Penny at the end, and when she asks why he's so chatty, he just says, "I'm hammered!"

Twists and Turns

Raj's family is rich.

Observations

More Penny and Raj interaction this week. I wonder if the gang will get the wrong idea eventually. (Or, more of the wrong idea, since they are all still under the impression they hooked up.)

Overall

Pretty good. I think I liked last week's more, though.

Vampire Diaries 3.04 - Disturbing Behavior


Vampire Diaries 3.04 - Disturbing Behavior


Brief Summary


Klaus has his witch try to track down Rebecca's necklace, which they need in order to discover why the hybrids aren't working. She suspects Stefan isn't telling the truth, and tortures him to get information. Meanwhile, everyone in Mystic Falls is trying to go back to normal, but it isn't easy. Alaric is suspicious of Damon, Caroline's dad is impervious to compulsion, Jeremy is having conversations with Anna, and Elena wants everyone to stop picking on her about her friendship with Damon.


What I Liked


I like that Damon is still on the council, and it is amusing that now the sheriff and the mayor have secrets they need to keep, as well. Alaric forcing himself on the council at the end was interesting, too.


Katherine is also great to watch. She shows up to help Stefan, and then goes to Damon at the end with the necklace offering to take him on a "road trip." I don't know where it's heading, but I like it.


I was on edge the whole episode thinking Damon was going to kill Caroline's dad, so it was refreshing that even though Caroline stopped him, he said he wasn't going to kill him anyway. I liked his yelling at Elena to quit expecting him to be like Stefan.


What I Didn't Like


Jeremy shutting Anna out. Yes, I know that he's moved on with Bonnie, but Anna was so sweet, and they really had a connection. Also, even on a less romantic level, she seems to need some help, and if she's warning him about Vickie, she might also be able to help him.

Alaric getting pissed at Damon. Yes, Damon snapping his neck (even knowing the ring would revive him) was a bad move. But I love their bro-friendship, so it's sad to see a little wrinkle in that.

Rebecca turning on Stefan so quickly. Yes, she was jealous of the fact that he clearly loved someone else, but I thought that she really cared about him.

Twists and Turns


Klaus has taken Stefan back to Mystic Falls.

Caroline's dad cannot be compelled.

Alaric joins the council, although they honestly don't do much, so not sure what good that is.

Katherine takes the necklace from Bonnie after pretending to be Elena, and teams up with Damon for some purpose.

Observations

Elena still doesn't know about Jeremy seeing dead girlfriends, since that was actually Katherine at the cafe.

Overall

Good episode! Looking forward to next week, and what havoc Klaus might inflict on Mystic Falls now that they've returned.

Thursday, October 6, 2011

Castle 4.03


Castle 4.03


Brief Summary


Castle and Beckett try to track down a body when their crime scene only consists of a huge splatter of blood. They stumble upon a cryogenic presevation lab, where the body of their victim is being kept for future revival. It's a fight to try to get the body into police custody, and the case gets weirder around ever turn. Meanwhile, Alexis is upset when she is rejected from Standford.


What I Liked


The story was interesting, albiet weird. And although they're being a smidge heavy-handed with the hints at Castle/Beckett eventually getting together, I enjoy it.


What I Didn't Like


I could completely understand Alexis falling apart after being rejected from the college, but I much prefer her when she's confident and sure of herself. At least it seemed to be less about Ashley and more about her own desire to prove herself. I also want to like the new boss, but she's so rough around the edges that it's tough. I also almost laugh everytime Beckett calls her "sir." It's possible to be respected and called "ma'am," you know!


Twists and Turns


The twist at the end wasn't really all that twisty - the wife committing suicide. It made perfect sense given her own motives for killing her husband.


Observations


The drama and intrigue set up in the first episode have been placed on the back-burner, and I'm not too sad. I prefer the lighter, mystery-of-the-week episodes.


I'm also starting to get a better feel for the secondary characters. Ryan is apparently engaged (not sure I've ever seen his fiancee) and Espisito is presumably involved with Laney, the autopsy woman. This is probably like "no duh!" material to long-time viewers, but since I didn't really see much of the first or second season, I'm just picking it up as I go along!


Overall


Good installment.

Monday, October 3, 2011

How I Met Your Mother 7.04 - The Stinson Missile Crisis



How I Met Your Mother 7.04 - The Stinson Missile Crisis

Brief Summary

Robin is in court-mandated therapy for assaulting a woman, and she tells her therapist the story of what led up to that event. Barney is being super sweet to Nora, while Ted is getting too involved in Marshall and Lily's pregnancy. When Nora goes out of town, Robin agrees to help Barney get rid of all his womanizing stuff, while Ted signs Marshall and Lily up for a birthing class.

What I Liked

Ted. His dorky, know-it-all, automatically inserting himself into Marshall and Lily's lives is embarrassing and hilarious. Although I think Marshall and Ted should have definitely left the birthing class when Lily didn't show up, Ted's, "When do I get to be the woman?" was great.

Robin. Her entire narration of the story was great, and I loved the various reactions she has to the events as they play out. Her screaming at her co-worker, and crying under the table were both sad and funny. I loved her suggestion to play laser tag and get drunk to Barney, but as per usual, Nora comes in and spoils the moment. This is becoming a regular thing for her, isn't it?

What I Didn't Like

Nora. Her relationship with Barney still isn't believable, and the scene at the restaurant at the end was so syrupy-sweet it was ridiculous. I'm dearly hoping that since the story is being told from Robin's perspective, the dialogue there is only what she imagines it would have been, and not what actually occurred. They try to make up for syrupy-sweet Barney by putting in all his plays from the past, but it doesn't really balance out. The only other consolation is that he's never actually had time to react to any of Robin's proposals - he's always interrupted.

Twists and Turns

Nothing too twisty, although we do get a glimpse of Lily's delivery, and Marshall seems to be missing.

Observations

Is the scene in the future with Marshall and Barney at the casino coinciding with Lily's delivery, or are we just supposed to think that for now?

Barney is still wearing the ducky tie.

We always knew Marshall and Lily wore matching costumes for Halloween, but we never knew Ted was always trying to be the third wheel!

Overall

There was a lot to like in this episode. Robin's pain at having to watch Barney be happy with Nora while she's really in love with him, and Ted's general dorkiness. But the Barney/Nora thing just isn't resonating with me. We aren't given any reason to like her, or to root for her. Obviously we want Robin to be with Barney, but they are making it extremely difficult to even care about Barney/Nora, especially since Barney is oddly out of character around her. I liked the therapist, though, and would be interested to see what he might think about the group should he ever meet them. (His comment about Ted needing therapy was great.)